The History of Hunter Street
SOUTH SIDE of Hunter Street, #1 to #851 (Page1,H1)
Or Lost Hunter Street, Newcastle NSW Au
H1 V1.2
A Historical Chronological List of
"Who was who in Business in downtown Hunter Street"
It's people, places, past and present.


Hunter Street developed as the commercial and civic hub of the region. Along its spine were the  pubs, banks,
insurance houses, shops, department stores, and cooperative societies that formed the civic and cultural life of
Newcastle. Today, Hunter Street comprises a rich collection of commercial and institutional buildings, many
designed by notable local architects. The quality and diversity of architectural styles found here are
testimony to the historic importance of the main street and its ongoing place in our local identity


Lost Hunter St.... Our story Begins
By, Spero Davias

(Updated 10/11/2019)
drop me an email at spero@soundworld.com.au

A Historical listing by property number of the early businesses of Hunter Street, Newcastle

City of Newcastle

This project is work in progress
as I find more information, it will be added

If you are looking for my other project on the
Greek Cafes of old Hunter St Click Here

Hunter Street is divided into 2 sides, This is the South side followed by the North Side here

The Highlight colours represent HotelCafePlace of Interest,  Night Club 

Further Notes on the Hunter St Numbering System are here

Google
 

East End
Center
Civic
West End Trial Map of Hunter   St 
North SideWhat Inspired Me
<<<<<< Starting on the corner of Telford and Hunter St's and continuing west  along Hunter St >>>>>>
South side of Hunter Street, Telford to Pacific St Block... for North side of Hunter Street Click Here


Top Of Town. South Side of Hunter St, 1970's Now All Demolished (Photo Uni)

South Side of Hunter Street
1 Corner Hunter & Telford Street's Newcastle, East End
  • 1926 - Vacant land among the Newcastle East sand hills
  • 1926 - The Wattle Cafe
  • 1930 - F. E. Notley 1930-1935, Fruiterer
  • 1935 - The California Cafe, was Relocated at 1 Hunter after closing down its operations at 147 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1979 - The California Cafe & the surrounding buildings where demolished to allow for the extension of Pacific Park
  • Currently - Pacific Park  
  • The California Cafe was Relocated at 1 Hunter after closing down its operations at 147 Hunter St Newcastle (4 doors from Wolf St) in 1935 to make way for the opening on July the 30th 1936 of the new Selfridge's Department store. The proprietors of The California Cafe where Arthur Sikiotis and Paul (Polydoros) Paxinos. both originally from Stavros on the Island of Ithaca, Greece. The Cafe was renowned for its hand made choclates and pinaple juice The Caliofornia used to also cater to the needs of the many dancers from Tyrrell House accros the road. Mrs Drinkwater was saying that when she worked there in the 1940's she was being paid 25 shillings per week, thats about $2.50 on todays money. It was also noted that the California had installed the FIRST JukeBox which catered for the Americans when in Port.


The side of the California Cafe in Telford St, note the Esplanade Hotel on Newcastle Beach, around 1955
3 Hunter St Newcastle,  East End
  • 1926 - Vacant land among the Newcastle East sand hills
  • 1930 - F. E. Notley, 1930-1938 Book Seller & Stationary
  • 1950 - Liquid Gold, a clothing store.
  • 1960 - Pauls Laundry
  • 1979 - The buildings where demolished, to allow for the extended Pacific Park
  • Currently- Pacific Park

Hunter St Newcastle, East End
  • 1920 - It was Vacant land and sand hills
  • 1920 - Ern Moroney
  • 1930 - Mrs J. Field, 1930 - 1932
  • 1938 - Ralph Sundstrom
  • 1950 - Northern Spectacle & Optical Co Pty Ltd. Proprietor James Kingston. Later moved to 114 Hunter St
  • 1955 - Beach Hut a clothing store.
  • 1979 - The buildings where demolished to allow for the extended Pacific Park
  • Currently - Pacific Park


East End
7 Hunter St Newcastle,  East End
  • 1920 - Vacant land among the Newcastle East sand hills
  • 1920 - William W. Chandler, 1920-1932
  • 1938 - Mrs M. Thompson
  • 1950 - Shipmates Dairy Delight, a milkshake and ice cream shop.1951
  • 1979 - The buildings where demolished to allow for the extended Pacific Park
  • Currently - Pacific Park
  • Shipmates Dairy Delight Transcript From Clem Ashford: After opening Shipmates, I got the idea of selling donuts, I saw the people over the road  from my Shipmates shop, who lived in a terraced house, they were on the pension, and I offered them a rental for the downstairs and to do the upstairs for them and they jumped at the idea, because they only had pension money and for people who had no money all of a sudden had this money coming in in rent, every week, I think I was only paying them about twenty pounds a week, which was a lot considering their pension was only 3 or 4 pounds. I moved in there, and l had these donuts, all Kinds I of donuts, and they used to be iced with pineapple and passion fruit and strawberry icing and then they would have walnuts and cream and toffee.  I made up my own recipes. Before I started that one somebody came and asked me would I do the Dairy Queen, so l got the place next door under the same circumstances, and started off with this Dairy Delight, it was the same as Dairy Queen but it was Dairy Delight

Hunter St Newcastle,  East End
  • 1920 - Vacant land among the Newcastle East sand hills
  • 1920 - James A. Miller
  • 1920 - David J. Quinn, 1920-1938
  • 1930 - C. Wheatley
  • 1932 - J. Kelly, 1932-1938, Tailor
  • 1950 - Shipmates Sugar & spice, Clem Ashford's very popular Hamburger and Donuts shop.
  • 1979 - The buildings where demolished to allow for the extended Pacific Park
  • Currently - Pacific Park

11 Hunter St Newcastle,  East End
  • 1920 - Vacant land and sand hills
  • 1920 - Mrs Cath Logan
  • 1930 - Mrs, E. J. Harris, 1930-1938
  • 1950 - Play O Mat, a slot car racing and amusement games centre. This was owned by Alec Hankin from A Hankin and company who later had an amusements, pin ball & Juke box manufacturing and office in Darby Street.
  • 1979 - The buildings where demolished to allow for the extended Pacific Park
  • Currently - Pacific Park

13 Hunter St Newcastle,  East End
  • 1950 - Frut Shop, Abraham
  • 1979 - The buildings where demolished to allow for the extended Pacific Park
  • Currently - Pacific Park


From the California Cafe on the left to the Kosciusko Cafe on Right (Photo Spero Digicolor)
15-17 Hunter St Newcastle, East End
  • 1919 - Vacant land and sand hills
  • 1920 - # 15 - I.M. Wilks
  • 1920 - # 17 - Mrs E.E. Edwards, Fruiterer
  • 1930 - # 17 - Mrs H. McGregor, Cafe
  • 1938 - The Beach Milk Bar
  • 1942 - The Kosciusko Cafe, proprietors were Basil Stavros (Stavrianopoulos) and John Rafty who were partners. The partnership was dissolved on the 31st Oct 1945, Basil Stavros stayed on as proprietor.John Rafty (Ioannis Raftopoulos) from 36 Corlette Street Cooks Hill arrived in Australia from Kioni, Ithaca, Greece in 1939. Later: The The Kosciusko Cafe was passed on to Basil's Son, Chris Stavros (Stavrianopoulos). Next door to the Kosciusko was Pacific Park which wound its way up to the old Royal Newcastle Hospital.
  • 1979 - The buildings where demolished to allow for the extended Pacific Park
  • Currently - Pacific Park


Southern end Pacific Park, Top of town,  Hunter St, with The Royal Newcastle Hospital & Newcastle Beach

Pacific Park

  • The smallest of the city's parks, Pacific Park is located on Pacific Street at the far eastern end of Hunter Street. Connected to nearby Newcastle Beach by an under road walkway, the park is a thoroughfare for locals and visitors alike, moving between Newcastles beautiful coastline and the citys shops, restaurants and cafes. In addition, the park is a popular location for festivals, markets and musical performances. Seating and public ammenities are available in the park

Northern end of Pacific Park with Hellenic Court in the background (Photo UNI)

<<<< Crossing over Pacific St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>
South side of Hunter St, Pacific to Watt St Block
... for North side of HunterStreet Click Here

The area in the block below, up and until 1930, was mainly made up of sand hills, before some buildings began to appear


The Moccadore, Vogue, & Beach Fish Cafe c1940's (Photo Newcastle Library)

19 Hunter St  / 33 Hunter St  Newcastle,  East End, The Essington Apartments Building

  • 1930 - Denes & Denes, Refreshment Rooms, the proprietors were Sophianos Denes & Cutsuicles Denes, Originally from the Greek island of Ithaca. He was only 16 when he left home in a sailing ship bound for America. The ship called at Port of Newcastle, and Mr. Denes decided to stay. He owned the Moccado cafe at the corner of Hunter and Pacific Streets right up to the time of his death. This was one of many cafe's located on this block.
  • 1940 - The Moccadore Cafe proprietor Denes Koutsouvelis.
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home wth retail shops below
  • 2001 - The New Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, wth retail shops below
  • 2004 - The Bogie Hole Cafe, Aaron Buman
  • Currently - Moor Cafe

21 Hunter St  / 35 Hunter St  Newcastle,  East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1932 - Southern Union Insurance Co Ltd
  • 1932 - Fassifern Coal Co Ltd
  • 1938 - Croft Bros Pty Ltd, Colliery Owners 
  • 1940 - Dorothea Salon, Children.s fashion
  • 1945 - Max Stemler, 1945-1950, a medical bio-chemist, The safe and ideal treatment is the blo-chemic treatment. The essentlal elements are conveyed into the body ser medium of Milk-Sugar which is very pleasant to take and easily assimilated. If your child Is suffering from Asthma, Bronchitis. Stomach disorders, skin diseases or any other curable complaint. you ought to investigate my method of healing.Consultation Free.Over 25 Years' Experience.MAX STEMLER
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home wth retail shops below
  • 2001 - The New Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, wth retail shops below
  • Currently - Restaurant Mason  Modern Australian fine dining

23 Hunter St  / 37 Hunter St  Newcastle,  East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1930 - Palais De luxe, 1930-1932, Refreshment Rooms
  • 1930 - Upper Level, The Greek Club
  • 1940 - The Hortons, Tea Rooms
  • 1941 - Peters Better Cakes. its proprietors then were Peter Sourlos, and Alexander Zeppos.
  • 1947 - The Vogue Cafe, the proprietors were Alexander Zeppos from 58 Church St. and Peter SourlosIt had its own bakery upstairs.
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home above and retail below
  • 2001 - The Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail & shops below
  • Currently - Entrance foyer to the Essington Apartments above

25 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1930 - J.A. Myers  Stationer & Bookseller
  • 1932 - A Smalley
  • 1938 - J. Neville, Newsagent & Stationer 
  • 1950 - T.J. Ledsam, Newsagent
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home above and retail below
  • 2001 - The Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail & shops below
  • Currently - Entrance foyer to the Essington Apartments above

27 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1921 - The Oxford CafePhone B1980
  • 1947 - The Paragon Cafe purchased by brothers John Raftos & Nick Raftos, The Cafe was sold a few years later.  Notes :As advertised in 1947 .The New, Modern .Paragon Cafe. (50 yards from T. & G. Building,) We specialise in grills, salads, fish meals, and all kinds of toasted sandwiches.,
  • 1932 - Charker & Co, 1932-1938, Auctioneers
  • 1932 - Hart & Welford, Dressmakers
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home above and retail below
  • 2001 - The Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail & shops below

29 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1930 - Reg Lazarus, Fruit Shop
  • 1930 - J. F. Leach, Cafe,
  • 1932 . C. Atmore, Cafe
  • 1950 - Dens Deli, Proprietor was Nick Politis, having been a deli when he bought it, Nick converted it to a sandwich bar 
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home above and retail below
  • 2001 - The New Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail & shops belo

31 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1930 - W.G. Watson & Co, 1930-1938, Electrical Engineers
  • 1940 - Kia-ora Cafe, 
  • 1945 - Layfields, Cafe
  • 1946 - Kad's Cafe, FIRE IN CAFE 1947 Firemen forced their way into Knd's Cafe, in Hulonter-street, Newcastle when a refrigerator motor caught fire  at 5.30 a.m. yesterday.. They smothered the fire with cloths. Electric wiring on the motor was slightly damaged.
  • 1956 - All existing buildings were demolished to make way for The New Nurses Home above 
  • 2001 - Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with shops below
  • Property Owner:G GERARDI & R GERARDI 2289

33 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1930 - Gordon & Gotch Aust Ltd, Wholesale Newsagents, the largest independent distributor and wholesaler of printed media which includes magazines and books.
  • 1941 - Upper floor, Newcastle Academy of Stage Dancing (Opp. The Old .Sun. Building). Principal: Jeanne Nicholas.
  • 1940 - Vacant
  • Henry Henke Jewelery ?
  • 1956 - All existing buildings were demolished to make way for The New Nurses Home above 
  • 2001 - Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with shops below
  • Property Owner:G GERARDI & R GERARDI 2289


Beach Fish Cafe on the left and others before the demolition (Photo University of Newcastle) 1940

35 
Hunter St Newcastle,
East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1920 - Upper Level, Union Pictures Ltd,    The Newcastle Registration Board,   The Newcastle Jockey Club Ltd, 1932-1940.
  • 1940 - Upper Level, The Newcastle Rugby Football League,
  • 1950 - Browns Boot Hospital,  Boot and Shoe repairers.
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home above with retail below
  • 2001 - The Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail & shops below

37 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1930 - Johnson & Hey,1930-1938, Typewriter Agents
  • 1956 -  Buildings were demolished to make way for The New Nurses Home above
  • 2001 - The Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail below.
  • Currently - The Entrance Foyer to the Essington Apartments


The Beach Fish Cafe, with George Davias & Staff around 1949

39 
Hunter St Newcastle East End, The Essington Apartments Building

  • 1938 - International Business Machines, 1938-1944,  
  • 1944 - The Beach Fish Cafe, The proprietors were, My Father, George Davias and Agapitos Montiadis, (James George Morris) as partners, James Morris was the father of  our local Politicians, Peter Morris and  Allan  Morris that later, where elected as federal members of parliament. The Beach Fish Cafe was also chosen to supply all meals to the nearby Jail Cells at Newcastle Police Station just down the road in Hunter St.After the demolition and the rebuild of the new nurses home, the shops where handed back to the previous owners, but unfortunately the new Beach Fish Cafe turned out to be quite small which made it unsuitable as the cafe it used to be. James Morris took over the lease and used the space, trading as a Health food shop until he later moved the business to Hamilton...I remember walking down to Dad's shop to watch the Queen drive past in February 1954
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home with retail below
  • 2001 - The Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail  below
  • 2008 - CurrentRosina's Italian Restaurant and Pizza

41 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The Essington Apartments Building
  • 1932 -J.W. Thomas, Butcher 
  • 1938 - R.H.B. Carcase Butcher
  • 1950 - Fruit Shop owned by brothers John and George Lekatsas (Lucas). and earlier, owned by Basilis Tsolakis. Phone 354.
  • 1952 - Fruit Shop was purchased by Reg Lazarus. who continued to run the Fruit Shop up and until its demolition in 1957. After the reconstruction phase, Reg took back the shop and reopened as a fruit shop again.
  • 1940 - R.H.Robertson, 1940-1950, Butchers & Carcass.
  • 1950 - Australian Red Cross
  • 1956 - All buildings were demolished for the construction of The New Nurses Home above and retail below
  • 2001 - The Nurses Home was converted to the Essington Apartments, with retail below
  • Currently- Car Park driveway to The Essington Apartments


The T&G Building

43 Hunter St Newcastle, East End, The T&G Building with various tenants
  • 1890 - The Great City Oyster Saloon. Proprietor,  Zograf Hresto applied for a wine licence on the premises. It was finally granted  
  • 1904 - The Cosmopolitan Cafe, As advertised,  The Cosmopolitan Cafe will be opened on the 3rd September 1904 when a splendid Band will perform a choice selection of music.The whole of the day's takings will be given to the Newcastle Hospital, Zograf Hresto, Proprietor. James Cofteros, Manager. As advertised in 1904, Mr. Zograf Hresto desires to inform the public that he has made extensive alterations and improvements In the premises lately known as The Great City Oyster Saloon which has been considerably enlarged both upstairs and down, and altered into a Modern Cafe, with Spacious, Ladies Room and all conveyances under the name of the .Cosmopolitan Cafe. which was situated next door to Washington H. Soul's.  Zograff Hresto passed away around 1905 and the premise auctioned.
  • 1905 - The Cosmopolitan Cafe was taken over by proprietors, Sophianos Denes & Cutsuicles Denes, As advertised in the Herald 1905, .The Cosmopolitan Cafe41 Hunter-St, Newcastle.  Now Open under New Management..Sophianos Denes & Cutsuicles Denes having taken over the above well-known Cafe, hope to merit a fair share of patronage by providing FIRST-CLASS MEALS at MODERATE CHARGES, and catering generally,for the comfort of the public at large. fresh Fish and Oysters. Daily. Suppers Supplied. All the furnishings are elaborate and up to date. DENES and DENES, Proprietors.
  • 1922 - The Cosmopolitan Cafe was taken over by The Rafty Brothers
  • 1923 - The Existing building was demolished to make way for The construction of the New T&G Building for McIlwraith McEacharn Line Pty Ltd and named Scottish House. It was designed by Spain and Cosh and built by Stuart Brothers. The cost of the building and land amounted to approximately £100,000
  • 1930 - Upper Floor, South British Insurance Co Ltd, 1930-1932, Queensland Insurance Co. Ltd.
  • 1935 - Property purchased by the T & G Mutual Life Assurance Society for approx $90,000, in what was then the biggest sale of any single freehold property in Newcastle.
  • 1937 - The tower was added which became a feature of each of the T & G company buildings
  • 1938 - Farrs Markets Ltd,
  • 1940 - Clue Ribbon, Refreshment Rooms
  • 1950 - Upper Floors - Cromarty & Turner, Accountants.
  • 1950 - Flick Pest Control
  • 1990 - Known as Hunter House
  • Currently- The T&G Building

45  Cnr Hunter St Newcastle,  East End,  The T&G Building with various tenants (1920 numbering  system)
  • 1932 - Mollwraith, McEacharn Ltd, Shipping Agents
  • 1930 - Ways Ltd, Cafe
  • 1932 - GF, Royal Exchange Assurance & State Assurance Co Ltd
  • 1932 - Basement, Railway & Tramway Institute
  • 1932 - 2nd Floor,  F.S.Scorer,1932-1950, Accountant
  • 1932 - 3rd Floor, W.I. Evans, 1932-1950, Agents Manufacturing, The PMG Dept, inspectors & EngineersBritish General Electric Co Ltd, Coal Carriers,  Carrier
  • 1937 - The tower was added and became a feature of each T & G company building
  • 1940 - Upper Floors - Hunter Commonwealth Institute of Accountants, Institute. 1940-1950, Lloyds Register of Shipping.
  • 1940 - Upper Floors - Blennerhassett Institute of Accountancy, 1940-1950, Business Colleges, 
  • 1940 - Upper Floors - International Correspondence Schools Pty  Ltd,  The Newcastle Business Men's Club, 1940-1950
  • 1940 - Upper Floors - P.W. Saddington & Son Pty Ltd, 1940-1950, Agents Manufacturing, A.C.Langwill,  Agents Manufacturing
  • 1940 - Upper Floors - MacDonald.s, Hamilton & Co, 1940-1950, Agents Mercantile, Boys E James, Chiropodists.
  • 1948 - Upper Floors - Jeater, Rod & Hay, Architects, Produce Broker, Anderson and Bond.
  • Currently - The T&G Building Formerly known as Scottish House
<<<< Crossing over Watt / George St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>
Southern side of Hunter St, Watt to Bolton St block... for the North side of Hunter Street Click Here
  • NOTE - 1908, Hunter St Shop Numbering System, began at Watt St. During 1908's the buildings on allotments 3 and 4 in Watt Street were demolished in order to extend Hunter Street, East through to the sand hills, Telford St & the beach. NOTE Pre 1909, another of the old numbering systems was used, starting at number 01 Hunter St, on the corner of Watt and Hunter st's, so the property numbers ran West to the AA Company Rail Bridge near Crown Street. where early Hunter St ended.


The Australian Joint Stock Bank on the corner Hunter & Watt Sts (Photo Uni)1852

49-51 Cnr Hunter St / 01 Hunter St  Newcastle,  East End,  Westpac Building,  (in1909 the new Numbering System 01 Hunter St begins here)
  • 1800 - Residence of John Bingle, coal and shipping Pioneer, on the corner set back off the road, surrounded by gardens and date palms along the front of the house.
  • 1828 - The Newcastle Inn, The Bingle house was converted into a hotel, The Newcastle Inn. John Huxham who arrived on the Elizabeth in 1826 became the Innkeeper at the Hotel.
    By  1928 The Newcastle Inn was one of eight Inns in Newcastle, It was described in as a large brick Inn with good stabling and accommodation.
  • 1830 - John Huxham was re-granted a publican's license for the Newcastle Inn He held that license for four years. John Hooke was proprietor of the house. Andrew Sparke and Edward Priest gave sureties and the license was granted with a fee of 25 pounds. In 1830 both John Hooke and John Huxham fell into debt and the Inn was to be sold at auction. John Huxham was declared insolvent in 1831.
  • 1831-  In the years 1831-1834, Simon Kemp held the licence for The Newcastle Inn
  • 1835 - Simon Kemp announced that he had made considerable additions and improvements to his Hotel and could now accommodate a greater number of travellers than he had hitherto been able to do. Extensive stabling was available and he assured gentlemen and families travelling to and from Sydney that he could provide every sort of accommodation and comfort. He changed the name of the Hotel to The Commercial Inn Hotel,  In 1835, 1836 and 1837 Simon Kemp held the licence under the new name of The Commercial Inn Hotel.  
  • 1832 - The Australian Joint  Stock Bank had selected and secured the allotment on Watt Street. The land, however, passed through the hands of two other owners before the bank opened its Newcastle branch there in June 1852.
  • 1843 - William Rouse, failed to apply for his license for the Steam Carriage Inn which was to close its doors, however he did obtain a license for his 'splendid new house' under the sign of the Newcastle Inn. This Inn was situated at the other end of Hunter Street, near Perkins Street and was also known as Rouse's Hotel.
  • 1859 - November,  the most disastrous fire that had ever occurred in Newcastle destroyed several buildings in the main streets of Newcastle. The Commercial Hotel was one of them. The fire bell rang out then shortly afterwards the signal gun was fired from the hill.  Simon Kemp died in 1867
  • 1859 - The Australian Joint  Stock Bank 1852-1910, was built (T.N. O.Neil, Mgr) The Australian Joint Stock Bank was created in 1852 by an Act of the New South Wales Parliament. It issued its first banknotes in 1862. In 1910, the Australian Bank of Commerce was registered in New South Wales under the Joint Stock Companies Act to take over the Australian Joint Stock Bank. In 1917, it acquired the City Bank of Sydney In 1931, the Bank of New South Wales (now Westpac) acquired the Australian Bank of Commerce  01 Hunter St
  • 1853 - Bank of NSW,  1853-1950, was the first to commence operations in Newcastle. 
  • 1876 - The Commercial Banking Co of Sydney, (Percy W Vaughan Mgr.)
  • 1911 - Australian Bank Of Commerce Ltd 1911-1930, (George Alexander Mgr)  in 1931 - Australian Bank of Commerce was taken over by the Bank of New South Wales.
  • 1920 - Upper Floor,  Liverpool & London & Globe Insurance Co Ltd, 1920-1930,Newcastle Jockey Club, Newcastle Registration Board
  • 1920 - Upper Floor, Liverpool & London Globe Insurance,  Boolaroo Racecourse Ltd,   L Cavalier, Optician
  • 1931 - Bank Of New South Wales, In 1931, the Bank of New South Wales (now Westpac) acquired the Australian Bank of Commerce The Australian Joint Stock Bank operated from 1852 to 1910, after which it became the Australian Bank of Commerce
  • 1950 - Upper Floor, Mcilwraith McEacharn Ltd, Agents Mercantile
  • Currently - Westpac, on the corner of Watt and Hunter Streets


On the corner Hunter & Watt Sts,  49 Hunter St Westpac, Amp1986  (Photo late Percy Sternbeck)

53 Hunter St / 03 Hunter St  Newcastle, East End, AMP Building
  • 1876 - A Savings Bank
  • 1891 - Scott The  Draper.  As advertised .SALE of Summer Dress Goods, Delaines, Muslims, etc., TO-DAY, and until every line is cleared, as .we must have more room for our fast increasing Millinery Department..
  • 1895 - City Banking Co of Sydney, (Percy W. Vaughan)  03 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Upper Floor, W.M. Shedden & Son, Auctioneers, real estate,   George Charles Greenham, Greenham Studio
  • 1920 - Upper Floor, The AMP Society,   North British & Merc Ins Co,    L5, Mr Bruce, Dentist. 1950-1970
  • 1930 - Donald, Chemist, 1930-1960
  • 1960 - The City Pharmacy
  • 1970 - DX Document  Mail Office, Document Exchange for legal offices
  • Currently - The City Pharmacy


View up Hunter St from the Watt St intersection (Photo Ncle Herald) 1905

55 Hunter St / 05 Hunter St  Newcastle,  East End,  AMP Building
  • 1876 - Restuarant
  • 1905 - Savings Bank of NSW, (Walter F. Gale Mgr)
  • 1909 - South British Fire & Marine Insurance Co Ltd, 1909-1920, Later moved to Scott & Bolton Sts   05 Hunter St
  • 1927 - AMP building , Commercial Palazzo. Finely detailed sandstone facings concealing a steel reinforced concrete structure.
  • 1940 - Upper Floor, The AMP Society
  • 1970 - Pine's Fine Wines, 1970-2008,
  • Currently - Rowies Hunter Street Bottlemart
  • Property Owner:A J RUFO (Unit 6) 2300
  • The AMP building has local historical and aesthetic significance as part of a group of bank and insurance buildings constructed in the Newcastle CBD in the 1910s-1930s which transformed the streetscape of Hunter Street and consolidated its status as the city's primary business thoroughfare. The AMP building, as part of this group, signalled a new phase of commerce in the city, based on heavy industry, and gave banking and insurance a modern presence in the city in purpose-built premises.


61 Hunter St / 11 Hunter St, The City Restaurant.(center left) later the Coffee Inn  1890

57 Hunter St / 07 Hunter St Newcastle,  East EndAMP Building
  • 1877 - The Australian Cafe, Adolph Kuhnell, Hamburger Coffee Palace & QCE Dining Rooms, As advertised in the Newcastle Herald in 1878 "Wanted, a useful Man, for kitchen, apply The Australian Cafe, 7 Hunter-street" As Advertised, 1889 "Australian Cafe - Luncheon, Grill and Supper Rooms, 7 Hunter street, opposite Telegraph Office. The Dining Room is now open. Grills to order. Tea and coffee always ready. Meals 1 shilling
  • 1883 - Hamburg Coffee Palace, prorietor Adolph Kuhnell,
  • 1891 - The Australian Cafe Mrs F. Leatheby, 1891-1905, the restaurant was Offered for Sale   7 Hunter St
  • 1909 - Donald Chemist, Robert C. Donald,  1909-1920, Chemist,  7 Hunter St
  • 1930 - AMP Chambers
  • 1940 - Upper Level, John M Roggero, Solicitor,  Sparke & Helmore, Solicitors,   J. V. Daniel, Accountant
  • 1950 - Upper Level, R.C. Vidal & Company, Accountant.
  • 1950 - Upper Level, Great Northern Discount & Fin Company Pty Ltd, Agents Financial 
  • Currently - Lucas & Associates Solicitors


Left is the P&O Building, Center is The Coffee Inn Cafe  c1940

59 Hunter St / 09 Hunter St  East End, Newcastle, P&O Building
  • 1863 - The City Restaurant.  shop 9 & 11 Hunter St,  as advertised, The Coolest Dining Rooms in the Northern District, are Fred Chambers. ( late Mr. Lashmore ) Ladies.Dining upstairs, where you can dine in comfort..  Lashmore's old established Pastry Cook and Confectioner's Business, with Restaurant attached, known as the City Restaurant, situated opposite the Police Station, Newcastle.
  • 1890 - The City Restaurant Mortgagee sale, offerd for sale as The City Dining Rooms 1891 Auctioned all fittings
  • 1895 - W. Mcleod, Books, Stationery and Newspapers.
  • 1905 - George Studdart,  Locksmith
  • 1909 - James H. McLean, Bootmaker  09 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Barnes Ltd, Bootmaker
  • 1930 - O. Ryans Tennis Shop
  • 1930 - Youngs Music House, George H Young, Proprietor
  • 1940 - The Queensland Insurance Co
  • 1986 - Newcastle Travel
  • 2008 - Surgery
  • Currently - The Medical Practice Newcastle, Dr. Lester Grace
  • Property Owner:C GRACE 2300


61 Hunter St / 11 Hunter St, Coffee Inn (Photo late Percy Sternbeck) 1986
61 Hunter St / 11 Hunter St Newcastle, East End
  • 1863 - The City Restaurant.  (9 & 11 Hunter St) The Coolest Dining Rooms in the Northern District, are Fred Chambers. ( late Mr. William Lashmore ) Ladies.Dining upstairs, where you can dine in comfort.  Lashmore's old established Pastry Cook and Confectioner's BUSINESS, with Restaurant attached, known as the City Restaurant, situated opposite the Police Station, Newcastle offerd for sale.
  • 1890 - The City Restaurant offerd for sale, 1891 Auctioned all fittings
  • 1905 - L. Davies, Pastry Cook  11 Hunter St
  • 1930 - Upper Floor, P.C. Rudge & Co, Tailors
  • 1932 - C. V. Ell, Typewriter & Office Equipment
  • 1930 - The Coffee Inn, 1930-1950, Refreshment Rooms, The proprietor was Nicholas Scott & possibly Constandino Scott. Locatedt next to the Westminster Hotel and right opposite the old Newcastle Police Station and Post Office. .
  • 1970 - Hungry Johns Cafe owned by John Argiris who took over the old Coffee Inn and totaly refurbished the shop and reopened as Hungry Johns Cafe. John was one of Newcastle's finest chefs, John sold the business around 1986 to Nick Raftos then moved into a very busy take away food store on the 1st floor of Garden City Kotara (todays Westfield).
  • 1986 - Hungry Johns Cafe was sold to Nick Raftos, who moved the business into his own premises, The Westminster Hotel just 2 doors away.
  • 1986 - Newcastle Travel,
  • 2012 - Sandy Chong Hair Design,
  • 2008 - Current - Gallary
  • Property Owner: J A MORGAN 2289


Henry Asser, Bookseller and Stationer, The Yacht Club Hotel on right (Photo Ralph Snowballl) 1897

63 Hunter St / 13 Hunter St  Newcastle, East End
  • 1897 - Henry Asser, Bookseller, Stationer & Stationer
  • 1905 - William Moore, Solicitor  13 Hunter St
  • 1909 - William E. Smith, Painter
  • 1909 - Alfred W. Ackroyd, Architect
  • 1909 - Whyte & Dean, Electrical Engineering
  • 1920 - William H. Bruce, Tailor
  • 1930 - Greentree & Robertson, 1930-1990, Chemist
  • 1950 - J.A. Robertson, Chemist
  • 1986 - Hunter Street Books, Athur Warner. Ex Ells Bookstore
  • 2008 - Warwick Hill, Family Law
  • 2017 - Doggy Chu
  • 2019 - Current - KiKi Fashion Co. on trend but exclusive female apparel fashion pieces 
  • Property Owner:J A MORGAN 2303


Yacht Club Hotel,  65 Hunter St / 15 Hunter St, (Photo via Newcastle Herald) 1876

65 Hunter St / 15 Hunter St, Newcastle, East End, Westminster Apartments  Building  (In 1909 = 15 Hunter, In 1910 known as 65 Hunter) 35
  • 1840 - Joseph Spragg's, general store.Joseph Spragg's store was a general one in every sense of the word, where, so to speak, the customer, could purchase anything from a needle to an anchor.
  • 1870 - The Yacht Club Hotel  James Harrison Hubbard held the licence from 1867 - 1881. In the sixties, the ordinary bill of fare at the Yacht Club Hotel (on between 1 p.m. and 2 pm) was a grilled chop or steak, a hot potato and a pint of beer, all for 1s. It was here that the regatta committee met in the days when James Hannell was the president. Proprietor James Harrison Hubbard was a large land speculator with Mr. Chinchen. They bought and subdivided, among other areas, Islington - where their names were perpetuated in the street naming scheme of the local government authority and the original Mayfield. Mr. Hubbard died in the late 80s. There was a large attendance at his funeral     
  • 1876 - Fire at the Yacht Club Hotel, Newcastle Herald " 22nd Febuary 1876 About 1.20 on Monday morning the city was alarmed by the ringing of the fire bell at the engine house in Newcomen Street. At first sound of the bell a reporter from the Herald went forth, and looking up Hunter St a densc column of smoke was observed to be rising from premises some distance up on the left hand side of the street, not far from the intersection of Bolton St. Upon proceeding nearer, it was perceived that the fire had broken out at the back of the Yacht Club Hotel, opposite the Court House".The Yacht Club Hotel was pulled down and the Westminster Hotel erected in its place in the 1890's.    
  • 1890 - The Westminster Hotel 1890-1990, The original 4 Level Westminster Hotel Was Built on the site of the old Yacht Club Hotel after the fire of 1876, (R. Bonventi) In 1938 proprietor was C.H. Pyatt
  • 1921 -The Westminster Hotel, as it appears today, was rebuilt after the the original one was demoloshed around 1920 possibly due to fire.
  • 1986 -  The Dolce Vita Restaurant, Upper level 1, 1986-1990,  which then relocated after earthquake damage to 81 Hunter Street.
  • 1990 - The Westminster Hotel ceased trading when It was purchased by Nick Raftos who had the icence transfered to 'The Me an Fiddler Hotel' in Rouse Hill, then redeveloped the hotel into 'shop top Apartments'
  • 2012 - Westminster Coffee Lounge opened on the Ground Floor
  • 2014 - Current - SushiNet on the Gr Floor with the Westminster Apartments above.

        
The present  Westminster Hotel on left        (Photo Uni)       the first Westminster on right  1898

<<<< Laneway >>>>

67-71
 
Hunter St / 19 Hunter StNewcastle, 
East End, The Commercial Bank of Australia Building 

  • 1891 - The American Bar Cafe.
  • 1905 - Herewd S, Hewison,  Bookseller
  • 1909 - Robert Edmunds, Bookseller
  • 1910 - The Commercial Bank of Australia Ltd1910-1958, , Note: CBA of Australia merged with Westpac in 1982
  • 1915 - J. George, Hairdresser
  • 1917 - Formerly the Commercial Banking Company of Australia. Represents a period of rapid growth for financial and insurance institutions in Newcastle
  • 1932 - L, Dobie, Cafe
  • 1940 - Upper Level, J. L. Shaw,Broker,    Mutual Life and Citizens Assurance Co,  Dr E.W. Ferguson,    Eric ArmstrongSolicitor,    J. E. Capper, Accountant,     Miss K. Hanson, Masseures.
  • 1950 - Upper Level, Lamb & Boa, Accountant,    R.S.Timbury, Agents Manufacturing, T.E. Flett, Chiropodists
  • 2000 - Upper Level, Renovated New Apartments plus a New built  top Floor Apartment
  • 2000 - Current G & G Gelato, AA Brothers, Computer Parts, and a block of Apartments above

73-75 Cnr Hunter & Bolton Sts 21 Hunter St Newcastle  East End,  CBC Building 
  • 1834 - The site was granted to Samuel Lyons and purchased later the same year by John Butler Hewson who later constructed a hostelry on the site
  • 1835 - The Union Inn Hotel was a cottage style building. Former constable John Butler Hewson arrived on the Mangles in 1820. By 1831 he was employed as a Constable at Newcastle. In 1832 he was appointed gaol keeper at Newcastle gaol was granted a licence for The Union Inn.  In 1835 He advertised good stabling and a selection of wine and spirits.  He held the license for the Union Inn at Newcastle from 1835 to 1844.
  • 1840 - Robert Tighe, a former soldier of the 28th regiment was employed as chief constable at Newcastle in 1839. He took over the licence of the Union Inn in 1840-1841. Robert Tighe died in March 1844.
    1844 - John Butler Hewson was granted the licence for the Woolpack Inn situated in Bolton Street, Newcastle.
  • 1845 - The licence for the The Union Inn was transferred by Robert's widow Sarah Tighe to William Latham. By 1846 William Latham was in financial difficulty.
  • 1846 - James Hannell moved the license for the Ship Inn from the The Union Inn to the oposite corner of Hunter and Bolton Streets. The old building of the original Union Inn on the corner of Hunter and Bolton Streets was demolished and a new two story building was erected and named The Woolpack.
  • 1846 - The Woolpack Hotel was advertised for sale by auctioneer Alexander Flood. It was said to be one of the most classic buildings in the town. it included the three cottages adjoining The Woolpack with a frontage to Bolton Street
  • 1847 - The Woolpack was advertised for sale again by Helenus Scott along with several other properties. 
  • 1850 - The name was changed to the Prince of Wales Hotel, Lewis Jones was the innkeeper of the Prince of Wales from the mid 1850s until 1870. Some years later the building was occupied by the Bank of New Zealand the then passed into the hands of the Commercial Banking company of Sydney.
  • 1856 - The license for The Union Inn was transferred by John Butler Hewson to a new Inn in Blane Street, (Later The Blue Peter Hotel) close to Mackie's furniture store.This was built on land purchased in 1853 from the Australian Agricultural Company which became known as Honeysuckle point.
  • 1859 - Prince of Wales Hotel. was owned by Mary Ann Hudson . In 1875 the proprietor was Andrew Kirkaldy.
  • 1878 - The Prince of Wales Hotel, with the two cottages in its rear, were bought at auction for the Bank of New Zealand for the sum of 5000 pounds. It is intended to renovate entirely the front portion of the building for the purpose of converting it into a branch of the New Zealand Bank, the houses in the rear having to be removed for the building in their place, of a residence for the Bank manager.
  • 1894 - Peter Paxinos, Fruiterer,  Restaurant and refreshment room.
  • 1902 - Sam Barnett  1902-1905, Tobacconist, Manila Cigars 6 pounds per 1000,
  • 1905 - Commercial Banking Co of Sydney, 1909-1938,  It was designed in 1920 by architects , Kent and Massie who were responsible for numerous grand buildings throughout NSW. They were commissioned by the Commercial Banking Company of Sydney (CBC Bank) to build the present building. 21 Hunter St
  • 1920 - The Commonwealth Bank Of Australia, 1920-1940, Kent & Massie Architects / Classical Revival style. Formerly the Commercial Banking Company of Sydney. A substantial well preserved stone building, the tallest in the city at the time.
  • 1920 - G. F. O'Sullivan & Co, Tailors
  • 1930 - Upper Level,  Fassifern Coal Co Ltd, Southern union Insurance Co Ltd, The Motor Traders Insurance Co 
  • 1950 - Upper Level, The Government Insurance Office Of NSW
  • 1982 - The Commercial Banking Company of Sydney merged with the National Bank of Australasia in 1982 creating the National Australia Bank.
  • 2012 - Newcastle City Business Centre was launched as a Serviced Offices and Meeting Rooms facility It is situated in an iconic sandstone heritage building.
  • Currently - Commercial Banking Co of Sydney Building With apartments above
<<<<  Crossing over Bolton St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>>
Bolton to Newcomen St Block... for North side of Street Click Here


Rural Bank Cnr Bolton & Hunter St, looking west from Post Office 1972 (Photo Newcastle Herald) digi col

77 
Cnr Hunter St / 23 Hunter St,
 Newcastle, East End  The Rural Bank bulding

  • 1876 - The Criterion Hotel  1876-1956,  (1883-1888 Henry Buchanan, 1930 it was Sol Diamond, G.J.Pyke) Commercial House of the North, at the corner of Hunter and Bolton streets, Newcastle. Splendid Sample Rooms, Fine Billiard Room (two tables), and Unequalled Accommodation for Travellers. Demolished in 1956
  • 1876 - John Broughton, 1876-1920, Shipping Merchant
  • 1920 - J. Elliott, Cafe
  • 1932 - Electric Photo Studio, 1932-1938
  • 1956 - The Criterion Hotel was Demolished for the building of the The Rural Bank bulding
  • 1958 - The Rural Bank, 1958-1972.  with various tenants.
  • 2008 - Lucky 7, Conveniance Store
  • Currently - Out Of The Square, Store & Newsagent,               23chk
  • Property Owner: MEZEI HOLDINGS PTY LTD (Unit 3) 2300


Criterion Hotel Cnr Bolton & Hunter St, looking west from Post Office (Photo Newcastle Herald) 1956

79 Hunter St / 25 Hunter St, Newcastle, East End  The Rural Bank bulding
  • 1886 - John Broughton Ltd, 1886-1905, Grocer
  • 1932 - Alex Peate & Co, 1932-1938, Tailors
  • 1950 - Eric Tandy, Mercer
  • 2001 - Current - Newcastle CBD Newsagency

81a Hunter St / 25a Hunter St, Newcastle, East End
  • 1938 - Back in a Day, Newcastle Pty Ltd, Dry Cleaners
  • 2015 - Cheries
  • Currently - Hunter 81 Boutique

81 Hunter St / 27 Hunter St, Newcastle East End
  • 1876 - Frank Alcock, Draper
  • 1905 -  Russell Wilkins & Sons, IronMongers,
  • 1905 - Tom H. Ingall, General Draper Clothier, Tom H Ingall has disolved partnership with R Ingall and Sons and has bought Mr Frank Alcock's business
  • 1909 - Shaw & Sons Ltd, 1909-1920, IronMongers, Hardware & Fancy Goods
  • 1920 - Harcourts, 1920-1930, Hatters & Mercers
  • 1930 - Hotel Brokers & Commercial Agents
  • 1930 - Joseph Kelly, Tailor
  • 1932 - Silk Fashions
  • 1938 - Capewell & Taylor, Florists
  • 1947 - Scott.s Milk Bar 1947-1950, and Fruit Shop. the Proprietor was Mr Nick Scott.
  • 1954 - Fruit shop owned by George Lekatsas (Lucas) .
  • 1957 - The Brazil Coffee Lounge.  Around 1957 John Raftos bought the fruit shop from George Lucas
  • 1990 - The Dolce Vita Restaurant, moved from Westminster Hotel 1990-1998
  • Note - The Brazil had the first cappuccino machine in Newcastle and people used to queue up.
  • Currently - Hunter 81 Ladies  Boutique
  • Property Owner: M MIZRAHI & G M MIZRAHI 2029
  • The Brazil Coffee Lounge.  Around 1957 John Raftos bought the fruit shop from George Lucas and transformed it into The Brazil Coffee Lounge which was a small narrow shop but became very popular and upmarket so when the opportunity came with the closing of the pharmacy next door which had a shared frontage and was virtually one shop divided in two, John spread the shop over both stores and created one larger space. About 1970 or 71 after purchasing the building, John, renovated extensively upstairs and opened the Brazil 81 Restaurant with piano bar and dancing. It became very popular with special events, functions and celebrations with Chef Pasquale. There were separate bar areas on the 1st floor. The ground floor was a Cafe, The Brazil Coffee Lounge. The building was sold in 1979 to a consortium from Sydney. The Brazil had the first cappuccino machine in Newcastle and people used to queue up.

83 Hunter St / 29 Hunter St, Newcastle East End
  • 1876 - London Chartered Bank Of Australia, W.A. Orr Mgr
  • 1909 - The Government Savings Bank
  • 1920 - George A. Campbell, 1920-1938, Hairdresser and Tobaconist, (double size shop 83-85 Hunter st) as advertised "have our hairdressers choose your new razor and strop and be sure of the best results.
  • 2015 - Hearing Life (4/81 Hunter St)
  • Currently - La Femme


Campbells Cycle Depot, 85 Hunter St /31 Hunter St (Photo Bert Lovett)1890
85 Hunter St / 31 Hunter St, Newcastle  East End
  • 1876 - George Tribe, Tobacconist
  • 1890 - George H. Campbell, 1890-1950, Hairdresser,  (double size shop 83-85 Hunter)  31 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Johnston & Co,  Fancy Goods
  • 1930 - W.F. Hutchinson, Dentist
  • 1930 - Maisonette, 1930-1938, Ladies Hairdresser
  • 1932 - M. Engert, Dental Mechanic
  • 1940 - The Devonshire Coffee Lounge, 1940-1945,  Bakehouse. The Newcastle Herald reported, We have turned away about four times ,as many people as we have served,. said the Manageress of the Devonshire Coffee Lounge. .I have never seen such a rush; there has been nothing left for hours. We have done a roaring trade in buttered scones and pikelets. We can.t get enough to cope with the demand.
  • 1970 - Dimity's Cards and Party Shop,  the vacant Devonshire Coffee Lounge was taken over by Nick Raftos who completely renovated the site and opened  the gift store .Dimity.s Cards and Party Shop.
  • 2010 - Newcastle Bakehouse, 2010-2017
  • 2017 - These Days
  • Currently - Vacant

87 Hunter St / 33 Hunter St Newcastle, East End

  • 1876 - W.H. Green, Ironmonger
  • 1905 - Joseph Johnson & Co, Fancy Goods  33 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Christie's, 1920-1930, Skirts & Umbrellas
  • 1965 - Tom Menzies, 1965-1975, Jeweler, shop1
  • 2010 - Silver Tree, Gifts and Jewelery
  • 2015 - Current - Shannon Hartigan Images, shop1
  • Property Owner: D REINER 2298


89 Hunter St / 35 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1905 - Alexandria Tea Rooms
  • 1909 - The British Piano Depot, Walter Stent, Music Teacher, Miss Jean Garrett, Music Teacher, Miss Doris Napier-North, Music Teacher 35 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Refreshment Rooms & Confectionary, George Paxinos
  • 1930 - C. Hyman, 1930-1950,  Watchmaker & Jeweler
  • 1955 - Prouds, Watchmaker & Jeweler
  • 1965 - Tom Menzies, 1965-1975, Jeweler, shop2
  • 2010 - Silver Tree, Gifts and Jewelery
  • 2015 - Current - Shannon Hartigan Images, shop2


Looking Westt down Hunter St  (Newcastle and Hunter District Historical Society archives)1950's

91 Hunter St / 37 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1897 - Refreshment Room, by The NSW Aerated and Confectionery Shop. Aadvertised .For the convenience of Patrons, Telephonic Communication has been established between the NSW Aerated Water and Confectionery Co.s Retail Shop and Refreshment Rooms, opposite Paling & Co.s Music Depot; and the Factories at Wickham. Orders left at the City Establishment will receive prompt attention.
  • 1905 - Peter Paxinos, Fruiterer
  • 1920 - J.A. Woodcock,
  • 1935 - Barnetts Tobacco, Nu-way Tobacco's sold only at Barnett's  ..
  • 1938 - Macey's, Ladies Wear, 1938-1950
  • Currently - PixelPro- Photo Printing & Picture


Toni.s Cafe (Photo by Matthew Ward)1940
93 Hunter St / 39 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1905 - Joseph Woodcock, Fruiterer      39 Hunter St  
  • 1920 - Denes & Denes, Restaurant
  • 1930 - J.R. Crayden, Newcastle Wine Depot
  • 1932 - Caldwell's Wines Ltd
  • 1938 - The Wine Bar, G.S. Bettley, Wine Salon
  • 1940 - Toni's Cafe which was opened by proprietor, Michael Shannos. There was a kitchen on the top story and dining rooms on the first and ground floors.
  • 1944 - Toni's Fish Cafe Toni.s advertising. Fishermen, Please Note. Best prices for Jewfish and Schnapper given at .Toni.s.  phone B1964
  • 1947 - The Treasury Cafe. 1947-1952, The proprietors were Theo Milas and Con Zavitsanos who was also born on Ithaca Greece and in 1945 resided at 6 Perkins St. The Treasury Cafe was still trading up to 1952. Located midway between Bolton and Newcomen Streets.
  • 1999 - Kodak Store
  • 2010 - The Deck, Fashion store
  • Currently - The Deck Homewares & Fashion

93a Hunter St / 41 Hunter St  Newcastle
  • 1905 - Peter HrestoOyster Salon  41 Hunter St
  • 1930 - Sophianos & Leventis, Cafe,
  • 1932 - Sophianos & Ramsbottom, Cafe,
  • 1936 - The Cosmopolitan Cafe,  the proprietors  where Babis Bonis and Andrew Kulidas.
  • 1936 - San Toy Cafe 1936-1940, Karl Hansen         
  • 2015 - The Deck Homewares & Fashion  
  • Currently - The Deck Homewares & Fashion
  • Property Owner:K MILAS 2300

95  Hunter St / 43 Hunter St  Newcastle East
  • 1905W.H. Soul & Co Newcastle Ltd, 1909-1932, Chemist  43 Hunter St
  • 1910Pattinson & Co Ltd, 1910-1932, Chemist 
  • 1920 - L. S. McMaugh, Dentist  ok43
  • 1938 - Ells Bookstore, 1938-1950,  books, toys and stationery
  • 1950 - F. J. Palmers and Son's Ltd
  • 2010 - NNT, Uniforms
  • 2015 - Vacant
  • Queensland Travel Center
  • Currently - The Pilates Space
  • Property Owner:B A BARBIC & M H BARBIC 2035

97 Hunter St / 45 Hunter St Newcastle East,  97-101 Hunter St,  Emporium Building
  • 1905 - Thomas D. Byrne, Hairdresser 45 Hunter St
  • 1909 - Alfred D. Robinson, 1909-1920, Hairdresser 45 Hunter St
  • 1930 - Sam Barnett, Tobacco Merchant.
  • 1930 - Newcastle Standard Laundry Ltd
  • 1930 - Upper floor - G.S. Cole, Dentist,  O.Sullivan, Tailor
  • 1950 - F. J. Palmers and Son's Ltd
  • 2010 - Vodafone, Optus, Telstra Shop
  • 2015 - Happy Herb Shop,
  • 2017 - Ubuntu, Wellness Clinic
  • Currently - Vacant
  • Property Owner: ITHACA INVESTMENTS PTY LTD 2300

99 Hunter St / 47 Hunter St  Newcastle East,   Emporium Building
  • 1876 - T. Eggleton,  Fruiterer, Seedsman
  • 1903 - Signor Zanoni Studio.sa Mandolin, Violin, and Piano Tuition. Signor Zanoni visits all suburbs.
  • 1905 - Lee & Co, Tailors shop1  47 Hunter St
  • 1918 - Coo Ee Clothing Company, 1918-1950, Tailors, Boys clothing retail, shop1
  • 1950 - F. J. Palmers and Son's Ltd
  • 1940 - Hinton Signs, Signwriter.
  • 1970 - Cafe Continental, owned by John (Yianko) & Sia Rafty. The proprietor was Demetre Carathanasis (Jim Carr) then later it was George Rafty
  • 1989 - Cafe Continental, Proprietor Bruce Derkenne, Purchased the Cafe in June 1989, then closed after the Earthquake of 89
  • 2010 - Flight Centre Newcastle
  • CurrentlyFlight Centre Newcastle


L to R, Scott and Airds Gentleman’s Mercers and Hatters and Lock’s Hotel, (photo Norm Barney)1880
Looking up Newcomen St from Hunter St

101 Cnr Hunter St / 49 Hunter St Newcastle East,  Emporium Building
  • 1876 - Galley's Family Hotel (George Galley) Much to the disappointment of a crowd of persons, numbering about 1,000, the feat of wire-rope walking announced to take place on a telegraph wire stretched from Galley's Family Hotel over to tihe Crystal Palace, in HuInter-street. did not come off, on account of the police refusing to grant the necessary permission..
  • 1880 - Scott and Airds, City House , Gentleman’s Mercers,and Hatters 
  • 1886 - Developed by Henry Buchanan, a prominent citizen and mayor. Also known as Buchanan’s Colonnade. Had a 2 storey veranda.
  • 1905 - Lee & Co, Tailors Shop2   49 Hunter St
  • 1918 - Coo Ee Clothing Company, 1918-1950, Tailors, Boys clothing retail, shop2
  • 1920 - G.C. Henderson, Tailor
  • 1940 - R. Wilson, Fishmonger
  • Harrey's Bag Store
  • 1942 - The Matara Gourmet BarIt was located on the east corner of Hunter & Newcomen St,  It was owned by John (Yianko) Rafty
  • 1960Shindig Village NightClub, Upper Floor, owned by John (Yianko) Rafty, above the Matara Bar. It was operated by Phil & Jenny Clarke who also owned Pumpkins Boutique.
  • 1967 - Margo's ladies fashion boutique, 1967-1980, Upper Level 1,  Accesssed by entrance from Newcomen St
  • 2009 - Oporto Chicken
  • 2015 - Hunter Gourmet Pizza
  • 2017 - Current - Vacant Store
<<  Crossing over Newcomen St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>
South side of Hunter St, Newcomen to Morgan St Block
... for North side Click Here


103 Hunter st, Newcomen St Corner, Crystal Palace Hotel,  Gloria Jeans, The Astoria Cafe & others


Cnr Hunter & Newcomon Sts, LtoR, Locke's Hotel to Scotts & Mrs Prevost  (Photo Ralph Snowballl) 1897

103 Cnr Hunter St / 51 Hunter St Newcastle, Commercial Building  c1927
  • 1886 - The Hunt Club Hotel  (M.J. Moroney)   chk ok 1886 Maps
  • 1890 - Locke's Hunt Club Hotel
  • 1896 - The Beauchamp Hotel
  • 1905 - The  Masonic Hotel 1905-1927, (George K McLaren, Masonic Hotel 1920 Richard Bath) 51 Hunter St
  • 1927 - Commercial Building, of the Inter-War era replaced the Hunt/Masonic Hotels
  • 1930 - M. Anderson, 1930-1946, Specialising in ready to wear robes. Frocks, Furs
  • 1950 - C E Sorby & CompanyForks Rakes, Shovels Wire Netting, Watering Pots Garden Hose, we have a Reputation for Selling Cheap, which is something worth keeping, and are determined to do so
  • 2010 - Gloria Jeans Coffee Shop.
  • Currently - The Ground Floor Cafe          ok51

The Astoria Cafe with Jerry Kolivas, 103A-105 Hunter St / 53-59 Hunter St  (digi color Spero) 1943
103A-105 Hunter St / 53-59 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1876 - The Ladies Warehouse,  Miss Fogarty late of Kelk & Alfords Sydney Has much pleasure in intimating to the residents of Newcastle and surrounding districts that she in now opening business in Hunter St at the corner of Newcomen St where  she will offer for sale a splendid assortment of Ladies Wear.
  • 1886 - J.C. Kelly & Co, Drapers, 1886-1900
  • 1887 - D. Marks (Late of Ford Marks & Co)
  • 1891 - Scotts Ltd, Drapers, 1891-1909. William Scott, William Scott, began his business here.
  • 1910 - T.J. Charnock, Tailor
  • 1925 - The Astoria Sundae Parlor, 1925-1938, Opened originally by proprietors, Mr. and Mrs. H. P. Brett. 
  • 1943 - The Astoria Cafe was taken over by proprietors, Jerry Kolivas, (who was also Manager) Michael Shannos, and Chris Stelianos.
  • Notes - On Christmas Eve 1942, The Astoria advertised in the Newcastle Herald .that it would be closing on Sundays as there was a shortage of high quality foodstuffs to go around the full week.This action is taken In order that the same High Standard of Quality and Efficient Service that the .Astoria. Is noted for, might he maintained throughout the week days to our numerous regular Patrons.
  • Notes - By December 1943, The Astoria also advertised .that it would be closing at 7.30pm every night, due to the rationing of foodstuffs, and power problems, etc. In January 1946 The Astoria announced that it just reopened after an extensive renovation. The Astoria was located 2nd from the corner on Hunter St and west from Newcomen Street. The Astoria was still trading up and until Nov 1954. Phone B3026
  • 1938 - Mac Frank, 1938-1950, Boot and Shoe retailers.  
  • 1955 - Anderson's, Frocks
  • Currently - Subway Restaurant.
  • Property Owner: LANDCOM
  • Subway Restaurant. In 1965, Fred DeLuca borrowed $1,000 from friend Peter Buck to start "Pete's Super Submarines" in Bridgeport, Connecticut, and in the following year, they formed Doctor's Associates Inc. to oversee operations of the restaurants as the franchise expanded.The holding company derives its name from DeLuca's goal to earn enough from the business to pay tuition for medical school, as well as Buck's having a doctorate in physics. Doctor's Associates is not affiliated with, nor endorsed by, any medical organization.In 1968, the sandwich shop was renamed "Subway". It is one of the fastest-growing franchises in the world and, as of June 2017, had approximately 42,000 locations in more than 100 countries. More than half of the locations are in the United States.It also is the largest single-brand restaurant chain, and the largest restaurant operator, in the world


The Astoria Cafe 103a-105 Hunter St  / 55-61 Hunter St, (Spero digi color)


 
Scotts Ltd, Drapers 103a-105 Hunter St  / 55-61 Hunter St,  1897

105 Hunter St / 
55-61 Hunter St Newcastle, 
  Commercial Building  c1890
  • 1891 - Scotts Ltd, Drapers, 1891-1909. William Scott, began his business in a small shop, even smaller than the one in the Photo  53-61 Hunter St
  • 1970 - MG23-22, Womans Fashion Stores
  • 2010 - Guaralara
  • 2010 - Porky's Cream on Hunter
  • 2015 - NookStore, Clothing
  • Currently - NookStore


L to R, Hunt Club Hotel, Scotts,   Mrs Prevost,  Madam Weigel, Ellis's, J Lynch,103-107 Hunter/51-61 Hunter St, (Photo R. Snowball) 1891

 107 Hunter St / 57-61 Hunter St Newcastle,   Fletcher Jones Building 1929
  • 1876 - Mrs Prevost, Fancy Goods (in shop 107)  57 Hunter St
  • 1876 - Madam Weigel,  Cut Paper Patters
  • 1876 - Tom Ellis  Bootmaker. Cheap boot repairsAs advertised .Wanted to be known. .EIlis, Hunter-st, has- been specially appointed Boot maker to His Excellency the Right Honorable the Earl of Jersey, G.O.M,G..   61 Hunter St
  • 1876 - J Lynch.
  • 1886 - R. Ingall & Sons, Milliners
  • 1891 - Scotts Ltd, Drapers, 1891-1909 William Scott, began his business here.
  • 1905 - Mark Murdoch & Co, Tailor
  • 1910 - Mick Simmons Ltd, 1910-1953, Tobacconist
  • 1932 - Creed's Ltd, 1932-1938, Robe Specialists
  • 1932 - W.S. BrendenRadio, Sporting Requirements
  • 1950 - Headwise Hats Pty Ltd, Milliners
  • 1950 - Fletcher Jones Australia
  • 2010 - Upper Floor, Pol-arise, pole and aerial dance fitness studio.
  • 2010 - Porky's Cream on Hunter
  • Currently - Porky's Cream on Hunter and at 107G,The Nook Store, dedicated to providing some of the best independent mens streetwear.


L to R, Lynch, A.J. Potter,  over the road to Fetherstone Cnr Hunter & Morgan Sts /109-111 Cnr Hunter S (Photo R. Snowball) 1891

109-111 Cnr Hunter St / 63 Hunter St  Newcastle, Sanitarium Building
  • 1886 - A.J. Potter & Co, 1886-1950, Watchmaker,Jewelers  63 Hunter St
  • 1890 - Commercial Building was built, Classical Revival style.One of many commercial buildings scattered around the city
  • 1895 - Cook and Co, Economical Cash Drapers
  • 1909 - Upper floor, George Williams, Music Teacher
  • 1920 - Commonwealth Shoe Co Ltd
  • 1930 - Upper floor, Simmons Chambers,  Shop Assistants Union,    A.J. Larkin, Dentist,    A.J. Reedman, Builder
  • 1932 - Mac's  Boot Shop, 1932-1938,
  • 1932 - Mick Simmons Ltd, 1932-1938, Tobacconist
  • 1932 - H.E. Koll, Chemist
  • 1940 - The Dell, Restaurant
  • 1938 - Gibb & Beeman, Ltd, 1938-1940, Opticians
  • 1950 - Fays Shoes. 1950-1972, Shoe Store
  • 1970 - Camera House
  • 2018 - Teddy Boutique
  • Currently - Teddy Boutique

111a Cnr Hunter St / 63a Hunter St  Newcastle, Sanitarium Building
  • 1886 - A.J. Potter & Co, 1886-1950, Watchmaker,Jewelers  63 Hunter St
  • 1891 - Upper Floor, Hughes & Son, Surgeon Dentists
  • 1970 - Camera House
  • 2015 - Bling, Fashion Store
  • 2018 - Honey Espresso Bar
  • Currently - Vacant


J.S. Robb, Cash Draper, Corner of Hunter & Laing / Morgan Sts,1897 (Picture Ralph Snowball)

<<< Crossing over Laing / Morgan St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>
South side of Hunter St, Morgan to Market St Block... for the North side of Hunter Street Click Here

L to R, Fetherstone,  Stevenson, 113-115 Hunter St / 65-69 Hunter St, Corner of Hunter & Morgan Sts, (Picture R. Snowball) 1897

113-115 Cnr Hunter St / 65 Hunter St  Newcastle, Municipal Building, 1908
  • 1886 - J. Fetherstone, Hatter Clothier Mens Mercer
  • 1894 - Frank Witherspoon, Grocer, took over the Late Fetherstone store       65 Hunter St
  • 1908 - The Building of the Municipal Building, The last of the buildings erected by Newcastle Borough Council
  • 1923 - Upper Floor, F.G. Hollway, Dentist, No Pain Dentist, Upper & Lower Painless extractions, located above Mac's Shoes.
  • 1920 - Mac's, Boot Shop, 1920-1938,  shop1
  • 1938 - Hunter The Stationer, 1938-1972,  Bookseller Stationer.
  • 1940 - Howe's Shoes Pty LtdShoe store
  • 1950 - Fay's Shoes, Edward Fay Pty Ltd, Boot and Shoe retailers.
  • 2010 - Current - Newcastle New Projects


Hunter St Mall, with the original Potter Building in the center 1972 (Photo Uni)

117 Hunter St / 
67 Hunter St
Newcastle,  Municipal Building, 1908
  • 1886 - D. Stevenson, Men's Mercer & Hatter
  • 1886 - H. Wilson and Co, Hotel and Business brokers
  • 1905 - Paxinos Bros, Fruiterers   67 Hunter St
  • 1914 - Payzis Brothers, 1914-1920, Confectionery & Fruiterers, located opposite Rundle.s
  • 1930 - Richard Rundle, 1930-1938, Tailor
  • 2010 - Shoe Box
  • 2015 - The Lair
  • Currently - The Lair Ladies Fashion and the new Market Square


Hunter St Mall, 113-115 Cnr Hunter St / 65 Hunter St, Fay's Shoes  about 1940
The original 'Potter Building in the center

117a Hunter St / 69 Hunter St Newcastle,  Municipal Building, 1908
  • 1880- Chippendall & Fleming, Shipping Butchers
  • 1886 - Sevil & Co, Butcher
  • 1905 - Paxinos Bros, Fruiterers   67 Hunter St
  • 2010 - The Lair
  • 2010 - Supere, Fashon Store
  • 2015 - MR3
  • Currently - MR3 Ladies. Fashion and the new Market Square

119 Hunter St / 69a Hunter St Newcastle,  Municipal Building, 1908
  • 1909 - Maurice T. Davies, Confectioner
  • 1930 - Fostar's Shoes Pty Ltd,1930-1950,  Boot and Shoe retailers. Shop1
  • 1995 - Caldwell the Jeweler.
  • 2015 - Studio Melt Jewelery
  • Currently - Studio Melt Jewelery and the new Market Square

119a Hunter St 69b Hunter St / Newcastle,  Municipal Building, 1908
  • 1930 - Fostar's Shoes Pty Ltd,1930-1950,  Boot and Shoe retailers. Shop2
  • Currently - Sussan, women.s fashion retailer


L to R Blackburn, Mrs Moran, Hollinshead, City Markets, 117-127 Hunter St/ 67-73 Hunter St  (Photo R. Snowball) 1897

New Entrance to Market Square

121 Cnr Hunter St / 
71 Hunter St Newcastle,  Municipal Building, 1908

  • 1886 - Mrs Moran’s the ladies Emporium Drapery fancy goods babies linen, 
  • 1886 - Blackburn watchmaker and working jeweller
  • 1886 - Rinkwater’s centennial studios
  • 1905 - Hughes & Son, Atkinson & Hughes, Mercers 71 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Richard Rundle 1920-1930, Tailor
  • 1921 - The No. 2 Astoria Cafeproprietors were Michael Shannos  & Speros Benas.
  • Notes : .Newcastle.s Leading Confectionery Importers. Shipments Landing Weekly from all the best English & Continental Makers. We claim these Lines are the Best Procurable. Unexcelled for Flavour, Purity guaranteed. All Pascall.s Toffoc in Sixpenny and Shilling Tins. The Best Chewing.Gum on the Market is CHICLETS,.A Dainty, Wholesome, and Healthful Confection. Lawney.s American Chocolates. Cadbury Chocolates always in Stock..
  • 1938 - Fostar's Shoes Pty Ltd, 1938-1950, Boot and Shoe retailers, Shop3
  • 2000 - Carla Swimware, has everything you need for the Australian summer
  • 2010 - Foxx Foe is a global online destination for fierce, fun & fashion forward girls
  • 2015 - Current - The Birdcage On Hunter,  Ladies. Wear

123 Hunter St / 73 Hunter St Newcastle,  Municipal Building, 1908  187 Hunter st on the old system
  • 1886 - Mrs W. A. Hollinshead,  fancy goods milliners warehouse (next to the city Markets entrance)
  • 1900 - W. Shirlow, Boot and Shoe Store
  • 1905 - Henry Endersby's Boot Store, 1905-1910
  • 1905 - Sam Barnett, Tobacco Merchant & Hairdresser
  • 1910 - Endersby's was sold to the Nobby Shoe Company of Sydney (later the Commonwealth Shoe Company) The manager of the Nobby Shoe Company/Commonwealth Shoe Company was David Leslie Sharp, who became Henry.s son-in-law.  David Sharp had married Henry.s daughter, Florence Hannah Endersby, in December 1906 and they went on to establish Sharps Shoe Store in 1929 at 205 Hunter Street.  David Sharp was 26 when he married Florence and was 30 when he was the manager of the Nobby Shoe Company, following its acquisition from Henry Endersby in 1910.
  • 1910 - Atkinson & Hughes, 1910 -1920, The hat kings, Hatters & Mercers         77ok
  • 1930 - W.S. Peisley, Dentist,
  • 1930 - Miss E. Corcoran, 1930-1938, Dermatologist
  • 1930 - Sperling's, 1930-1938,  Fur Department
  • 1930 - Upper Floor, Spencer Block Buildings, 1930-1938, Dance Studio near the Strand
  • 1938 - Evalyn-Mellor, Studio Photographers  
  • 2010 - Current - SportsGirl, Ladies Fashion


25 
Hunter St /
75 Hunter St
,
Mrs Hollinshead on the left with Borough Markets, Demolished in 1915 (photo uonarchi)
Hollinshead milliners, Markets, New Market Hotel, with Palings in the foreground, Ralph Snowball Studio in the left tower



The Strand Theater, built in 1930 on the City Markets site, (Photo Lost Newcastle) 1970
125 Hunter St / 75 Hunter St  Newcastle,
  • 1860 - Customs House
  • 1870 - The Borough Markets, 1870-1930, (City Markets) The foundation stone of the Borough Markets was laid in 1870 by Mayor William A Sparke. It was built by Smith Thomas, who was a well-known and respected figure in the building industry of Newcastle for almost 60 years, and designed by an established Sydney architect, G. A. Mansfield, and its construction was supervised by Joseph Backhouse. The markets were demolished in 1915.
  • 1905 - City Markets, J. Hunter and Son Pty Ltd  D. Fleming, Juno, Boot and Shoe retailers.  83 Hunter St 
  • 1930 - Way's Ltd, Refreshment Rooms 1930-1938,
  • 1930 - The Strand Picture Theatre, 1930-1980, which was Demolished in 1980 to make way for the redevelopment of Market Square.
  • Note - Across the road was the Hunter on Hunter Hotel.
  • 1980 - The new Market Square shopping centre, built by Kern Corporation Ltd on the old Strand site, opened by NSW Premier Neville Wran on November 17, 1980,
  • Currently - BreakAway, Surf shop


LtoR, City Markets, New Market Hotel , Edward Smith's City House, John Hunter (Photo Ralph Snowball) 1891

127 Hunter St / 77 Hunter St  Newcastle
  • 1825 - The Crooked Billet Inn, Francis Beattie was granted a publican's license to sell spirits, beer and ale.He established the Crooked Billet Inn in 1825. During his years at Newcastle as well as his business running the Inn he also worked as a bailiff, gaol keeper, pound keeper, auctioneer and store keeper. In 1829 Francis Beattie came into financial difficulties. In 1834 Francis Beattie moved from the 'Crooked Billet' to The Australian Inn that had previously kept by James Pawsey, Francis Beattie, the original proprietor of the Crooked Billet died in October 1835 age 57 and was buried in Christ Church Burial Grounds
  • 1829 - Miners' Arms Hotel The only building in the Market Square was a hostelry known as the London Hotel originally the Miners Arms and afterwards becoming a customs-house
  • 1868 - Shipwrights' Arms Hotel ..on the corner of Hunter & Market St's (When Market St, partly went through to King St,  Before the building of the Strand Theatre) The building reverted to its original role, that of an Inn in the 1860's, under the sign of the Shipwrights' Arms, the license being held by John Peterson who later transferred his licence to a new building in Hunter Street.
  • 1879 - The Newmarket Hotel1879-1937,  Later in 1891, it was known as Paynes Newmarket Hotel,   (1909- Frederik Garnham,  Mrs Cath Thompson),  
  • 1891 - Paynes Newmarket HotelLater called The Strand Hotel ..
  • 1930 - London Tavern Hotel, The Shipwrights' Arms re-opened as the London Tavern but was de-licenced and conducted as a boarding house known as Northumberland House
  • 1930 - T. Sperling, 1930-1938, Ladies Costumes
  • 1937 - Tooheys Brewery bought the licence from the old Newmarket Hotel, near the later Strand Theatre and opened the former Golden Sands Hotel later named The Esplanade Hotel (now demolished and part of Pacific Park opposite Newcastle Beach in Telford Street) (77 Hunter)
  • 1937 - Woolworths Ltd. 1937-1950, Department Store
  • 1950 - Creedway's, Ladies Frocks
  • Currently - BreakAway, Surf shop


Lucernes Strand Butchery (Ncle Herald Clip) 1901                                                             1916 Lyric Cafe Addvertisment

129 Hunter St / 79 Hunter St Newcastle,
  • 1886 - Summerfield & Co, Tailors
  • 1891 - Edward Smith's City House, Noted for mens, youths & boys clothing at London prices
  • 1891 - Walter Benns & Co, Upper Level, Wholesale Stationers, Fancy goods
  • 1901 - Lucernes Strand Butchery  125 Hunter St
  • 1905 - Asher Thompson, Tobacconist 79 Hunter St 
  • 1910 - Rudolph Langer, Stationer
  • 1920 - Gerald Levy, Tobacconist
  • 1930 - Morgans Cakes Ltd,
  • 1935 - Woolworths Ltd. 1935-1955, Department Store
  • 1938 - Sergeants Ritz Milk Bar
  • 1940 - Lucerne's, 1940-1950, Butchers
  • 1950 - Hunter and Son Pty Ltd Juno, Boot and Shoe retailers.
  • 1950 - R.W. Whitaker & Son, Jeweler.
  • 2010 - Current - BreakAway, Surf shop      


City Markets (Photo Ralph Snowball) 1891
131 Hunter St / 81 Hunter St  Newcastle
  • 1886 - John Hunter, Boot Store  81 Hunter St
  • 1886 - Fred B. Menkens, Upper Floor, Architect
  • 1905 - Oliver Godfrey, Photographer 81 Hunter St
  • 1910 - Lowes Ltd, 1910-1930, Tailors, 
  • 1910 - W.S. Preisley, Dentist
  • 1915 - Newcastle Business College, Upper Floor,
  • 1920 - Spencer Block Buildings, 1932-1938, Upper Floor, Dance Studio near the Strand
  • 1930 - T. Sperling, 1930-1938, Ladies Frocks, Robes
  • 1935 - Woolworths Ltd. 1935-1955, Department Store
  • 1938 - Eastern Arts, Art Salon
  • 1940 - The Bargain Arcade Pty Ltd No 1, Chain Store
  • 1960 - Sussan, dress shop
  • 2010 - Current - BreakAway, Surf shop


127-143 Hunter St, Taken by Spero from a collage of photo's on the wall of Woolies Market Town 1935
Fm L to R,  see the end of the Strand Theatre awning, Woolies  then crossing over to Selfridge's, Soul Pats Chemist, The Duke hotel

133 Hunter St / 81a Hunter St  Newcastle
  • 1930 - Whitakers, Omega Watch
  • 1935 - Woolworths Ltd. 1935-1955, Department Store
  • 2010 - Current - BreakAway, Surf shop


Woolies 137-143 Hunter St (Photo & Color Spero from a wall in Woolies Market Town) 1939

137-141 Hunter St / 81b Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1880 - J.S. Cave, Upper Level, Surgeon-Dentist
  • 1886 - John Hunter & Son Ltd, Boot Store           137-139 Hunter St
  • 1899 - Refreshment Rooms, Manufacturing Pastry Cook and Confectioner
  • 1935 - Woolworths Ltd. 1935-1955, Department Store. 147 Hunter St
  • 2010 - Current - Tree of Life, Womans Fashion

133MarketSt.jpg
View to the harbour down Market St with H. Paling & Co on the left (Photo Ralph Snowball) 1891

143 Cnr Hunter & Thorn Sts / 83 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1878 - The Northumberland Hotel 1878-1916,  (Henry Simpson) 
  • 1886 - Hunter & Son Ltd, 1908-1930, Boot, Bag, Leather & Grindery store
  • 1916 - Lyric Cafeproprietors were Paxinos and Zervos. By 1920, The proprietors were  Zervos & Raftos. On the 4th October 1926 all fixtures and fittings were auctioned..
  • 1935 - Woolworths Ltd. 1935-1955, Department Store
  • 1946 - Jays TravelHunter St Mall
  • 1948 - The Havana Cafe, the proprietor was John Barlas this was on the corner of Hunter and Thorn Street and just up from the old Strand Theater.
  • 2010 - Jeanswest
  • 2017 - Current - Jays TravelHunter St Mall Its all part of the new Market Square  
  • Property Owner: NEWCASTLE CITY COUNCIL 230
 <<<<<<< Crossing over Thorn St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>>>
South side of Hunter St, Thorn to Wolf St Block... for North side of Street Click Here


Coles 1986 (Photo late Percy Sternbeck)
145 Cnr Hunter & Thorn Sts91 Hunter St Newcastle,  Coles Building
  • 1860 - A. Smith, 1860-1880, Draper with  The Globe Hotel  next door in Thorn St.
  • 1897 - J.S. Robb, Cash Draper and Milliner
  • 1909 - Robert Christie, Umbrella Maker       91 hunter St  ok
  • 1909 - Thomas Parker, Dentist                      91 hunter St    
  • 1919 - Mac's Shoe & Boot Shop (145 Hunter St) 1919-1921 then in 1929 moved to 113 Hunter St
  • 1930 - Bon Ton, 1930-1938, Milliners
  • 1950 - Chic Salon, 1938-1950, Lingerie                     
  • 1951 - Katies
  • 1986 - The Building was purchased by 'Go Hunter Mall Pty Ltd' Spearheaded by Spero Davias
  • 1997 - The Building was totaly renovated by JML Constructions for Go Hunter Mall P/L who turned the space into a multitude of retail stores
  • 1998 - Millers Clothing. Our range of women's clothing will help you flaunt your style
  • 2010 - Tempt,  Women's clothing
  • 2015 - Curvy Queens Closet
  • 2017 - Donna Donna
  • Currently - Earmarked for Demolition to make way for the East End Development & Apartments


J.S. RobbLlewellyn Davies, Cnr of Hunter & Morgan Sts,145-149 Hunter St / 95-97 Hunter St (Photo Ralph Snowball) 1897
J. S. Robb, Milliner and Draper and T H Raysmith Jewellers (on today's Coles site)

145a 
Hunter & Thorn Sts93 Hunter St Newcastle,  Coles Building
  • 1897 - T.H. Raysmith, 1897-1920,  Advertised - Watchmaker, Diamond Rings, 5 stone half loop ring at 5 Guineas 93 Hunter St
  • 1930 - R, Whitaker, 1930-1938,  watchmaker & jeweler


Llewellyn DaviesMyer, 149 Hunter St / 99 Hunter St, (Photo Ralph Snowball)  1891

147-149 Hunter St / 95-97 Hunter St Newcastle,  Coles Building
  • 1860 - R. Lipman, Watchmaker, Having made satisfactory arrangements for the renewal of the lease of his old-established business premises, desires to inform the public that he has Just Opened. A MAGNIFICENT ASSORTMENT of Jewelery, Watches, Clocks Ladies' and Gentlemens Gold Sets DIAMOND RINGS, &c., &c., whilch will be found highly suitable for presents  to FRIENDS for the coming holidays.A Great reduction has been made in Watches of every description, and Liberal Discounts will be madeon every article bought.
  • 1897 - Llewellyn Davies, 1897-1920, Confectionery Manufacturer 95-97 Hunter St
  • 1897 - Charles Robbins, Milliner
  • 1930 - G. Grivas, Confectionary and Refreshments          chk point 95-97ok
  • 1938 - Christie's, Frocks & Umbrella, boot warehouse
  • 1936 - Selfridges (Australia) Ltd, 1936-1950, Chain Store
  • 1951 - Coles Variety Store
  • 1980 - Newcastle City Health Foods
  • 1998 - Angus & RobertsonBook Store
  • 1997 - The Building was totaly renovated by JML Constructions for Go Hunter Mall P/L
  • Currently - French Chateau

Selfidges
149 Hunter St / 99 Hunter St, Corner of Hunter & Wolf Sts  Selfridges Around 1939
 
149 Hunter St / 99 Hunter St Newcastle,  Coles Building
  • 1860 - Ingall & Sons, Milliners
  • 1897 - Myers, China and Glassware
  • 1905W.H. Sproull & Co, 1905-1950,  Chemist & Book sellers 99 Hunter St ok
  • 1909 - H.A. PocklingtonStationer 99 Hunter St 
  • 1910 - Hunter & Sons, Boot Dealers & Leather
  • 1930 - The California Cafe, 1930-1935,  was Relocated to 1 Hunter St after closing down its operations in 1935 to make way for the opening on July the 30th 1936 of the new Selfridge's Department store.
  • 1930 - Tredrite, 1930-1936, Shoe Store
  • 1936 - Selfridges Australia Ltd, 1936-1950, (Opened 30th Jul) (no connection with the London Store).
  • 1950 - Coles Supermarket, George James (G. J.) Coles learned the retail trade working for his father's Coles Store. business from 1910 to 1913. (The store continued operating as .The Original Coles. at Wilmot, Tasmania, until it was destroyed by a fire on 24 January 2014) Coles itself was founded when G. J. Coles opened the .Coles Variety Store. on 9 April 1914 on Smith Street in the Melbourne, Victoria suburb of Collingwood. Further expansion occurred and Coles. interest in food retailing was spurred in 1958 when it acquired 54 John Connell Dickins grocery stores. It then acquired the Beilby.s chain in South Australia in 1959 and 265 Matthews Thompson grocery stores in New South Wales in 1960.
  • 1970 - The Cavern Night Club was on the site above Coles in Wolf Street
  • 1997 - The Coles Building was purchased by a Newcastle Development Syndicate. I instigated the sale of the Coles site to 'Go Hunter Mall Pty Ltd,' which comprised of myself as well as another 5 local business people. The property was redeveloped by one of our shareholders JML Constructions. The tenants comprised of, Angus & Robertson, Millers Fashion, Sandy Chong Hairdressing, Hearing impairment, and part of the new extension to the Lyric Theatre.
  • 1998 - Angus & RobertsonBook Store
  • 2006 - Go Hunter Mall Pty Ltd sold property to GPT properties
  • 2017 - GPT properties sold to IRIS Capitol
  • Currently - All tenants closing down ready for part demolition and redevelopment by Iris Capitol
  • Property Owner: GPT HUNTER

Coles
Strand Theatre, Woolworths, Coles, Soul Pat, 147-149 Hunter St, 99 Hunter St (Photo Newcastle Herald) 1940's

151 Hunter St / 101 Hunter St Newcastle  Soul Pattinson Building
  • 1860 - Paine, Fancy Goods
  • 1897 - W Manning, Manning Brothers Shipping and Family Grocer
  • 1920 - George Adams Ltd, 1920-1938,  Cake Manufacturers
  • 1938 - Cook's Ham Shop, Smallgoods
  • 1987 - Baggas Newcastle Pharmacy
  • 2015 - Sol Invictus Motorcycle Co
  • Currently - Upper Floor, The Pilates Barre Newcastle, Dance Fitness classes, soon to be demolished for redevelopment
  • Property Owner:GPT HUNTER CUSTODIAN PTY LIMITED & LANDCOM 2000


103 Hunter St, David Williamson Ncle Herald 26 Sep 1896

153 Hunter St / 103 Hunter St Hunter St Newcastle,  Soul Pattinson Building
  • 1860 - Harris & Sproull, Chemist
  • 1893 - David Williamson opened theTobacconist shop in April 1893. He died in 1904    103 Hunter St
  • 1897 - Samuel Harris MPS Chemist and Druggist
  • 1908 - Stuttafords,  Umbrella Repairs.
  • 1905 - Herbert HarveyTobacconist, it appears the Tobaconist shop was taken over from David Williamson after his death in 1904  
  • 1910 - W.H. Sproul & Co, Chemist
  • 1931 - Lowes Mens wear
  • 1950 - Shirley Shoe Company Pty Ltd, Shoe retailers.
  • 1950 - Soul Pattinson Pty Ltd. Chemist,  is one of Australias leading Pharmacy groups.
  • 1987 - Baggas Newcastle Pharmacy
  • 2015 - Sol Invictus Motorcycle Co
  • Currently - Vacant store ready for demolition
  • Property Owner:GPT HUNTER CUSTODIAN PTY LIMITED & LANDCOM 2000
  • Soul Pattinson Pty Ltd. Chemist,  is one of Australia's leading Pharmacy groups. For over 130 years, the company has been providing pharmacy services, professional care and value for money to the community through Member owned pharmacies.The Soul Pattinson retail outlets expanded rapidly between 1920 and 1937 with more than fifteen pharmacies opening in New South Wales, including the Newcastle region. Today there are over 80 Soul Pattinson Chemists nation wide.Soul Pattinson Chemist is now wholly owned by Australian Pharmaceutical Industries (API) following the acquisition in May 2000. API is an integrated healthcare services company with four core business operations pharmaceutical, distribution, manufacturing, retail pharmacy brands and hospital and medical distribution. It was established as a chemists co-operative in 1910 and listed on the ASX in 1997, Washington H. Soul passed away on 13/12/1927


153-157 Cnr Hunter St,  Royal Exchange Hotel (Photo Uni)
155-157 Cnr Hunter St / 105 Hunter St  Newcastle   Duke of Kent Hotel Building
  • 1878 - Royal Exchange Hotel  1878-1938, (1878 . A.C. Hollinshed, Thos B Sharp) 105 Hunter St ok
  • 1888 - Pikes Boot Making Company, 1888-1910   
  • 1938 - The Duke of Kent Hotel 1938-1950, (P.J.Ryan) (155) James Fraser, begs to inform the public of Newcastle and Surrounding district that he has opened the Royal Exchange Hotel, with a Large and choice stock of Liqueurs of the best brands, and customers will at all times be served with the best.The Hotel possess every convenience for travellers, has a good ample room, and will be found reletto with every comfort and convenience, having been thoroughly overhauled and put in first-class order.
  • 1985 - Advance Bank, was an Australian bank that existed from 1985 until 1997, when it merged with St George Bank.It started as the NSW Permanent Building & Investment Society in 1939. .In 1982, it established a funds management division, Advance Asset Management, which is now a specialist asset management business within the Westpac Group. Its focus is on asset allocation and risk management, implemented through a multi-manager process, providing investment opportunities across a range of asset classes, including shares, property, fixed interest and cash.The building society was demutualised in 1985 and became known as the Advance Bank. In 1995, Advance Bank acquired the State Bank of South Australia, which it continued to run as a separate business unit under the name "Bank of South Australia", branded "BankSA".Advance Bank (and its BankSA subsidiary) was taken over in 1997 by St George Bank, itself another former building society.
  • 1987 - Mall Newsagency
  • 2015 - Current - JoJo's Homeware soon to demolished to make way for the East End Development & Apartments
 <<<<< Crossing over Wolf St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>>>
South side of Hunter St, Wolf to Perkins... for the North side of Hunter Street Click Here


William Dombkins Hunter and Wolfe Streets (photo uonarchi) 1886 Scotts in the background

1
59 Cnr Hunter St / 109 Hunter St Newcastle, East End,  Caldwell's Corner

  • 1886 - Capper Bros, Ironmongers
  • 1905 - William Dombkins, (Wilhelm Dumke) Boot Shop, on the corner of Hunter and Wolfe Streets reveals a typical Victorian streetscape with the wide verandas and awnings that covered the entire footpath. This streets cape dominated the city until 1929 when the wide and elegant balconies were demolished and replaced by suspended awnings in line with Council policy for Hunter Street.. it was a boot store
  • 1935 - Victor and Palings, "Hear the 1935 "Victor and Palings" High Fidelity Radios. A revelation in tone, Terms $2 deposit."
  • 1938 - Sellors, Silk Store
  • 1950 - Austens, Frocks
  • 1957 - Caldwell's the jeweler, 1957-2006
  • 2010 - Medicare
  • 2015 - Patina, Custom Oak Tables
  • 2016 - Current - H & R Block, Tax Accountants


L to R Dombkins, Witherspoon, Green Bros, Charleston Studio's, Located on David Jones site, 1908

1
59a Hunter St / 111 Hunter St Newcastle East End, Caldwell's Corner
  • 1886 - W.H. Roberts, Fancy Goods     109 Hunter St
  • 1908 - Upper Level, Harris Maurice, Piano dir,        
  • 1908 - E. Witherspoon, 1908-1920,  Grocer
  • 1938 - The Ritz Milk Bar Newcastle.1938-1950,  In 1943 the proprietor was Michael Shannos1947 Theo Rafty was proprietor, by 1948 the Proprietor partners where Peter Scott and John Rafty.                   
  • 1950 - Andersons, Frocks
  • 1954 - The Ritz had expanded to 159 Hunter St.  
  • 2010 - Earth To Moon,
  • 2015 - Bella
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building

161 Hunter St / 111a Hunter St Newcastle, East End    Washington House,
  • 1897 - Scott's Pty Ltd, General Drapers, 1897-1958,  Importers, Milliners, Clothiers, Mercers.
  • 1908 - Green Bros, 1920-1938, Jewelers
  • 1920 - W.G. Sweeney,
  • 1930 - George E. Firkin, Chemist
  • 1930 - M.F. Davies, Confectioary
  • 1938 - New Hunter Chain Stores
  • 1938 - Gardiner's Ltd, 1938-1950,  Joe, Boot and Shoe retailers.
  • 1958 - David Jones, 1958-2012,  (acquired Scott's) Formerly Scotts Ltd, one of Newcastle’s largest stores, established in the 1890s. Purchased by David Jones in 1958.
  • 1983 - Gentlemens Outfitters, David McElwaine. Newcastle and the Hunter Valley's premier menswear and mens fashion retail outlet. We are the number one shop for suits, shirts and accessories
  • 2012 - David Jones, Closed
  • 2019 - David Jones, demolished
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building and a luxury hotel, which will be known as QT Newcastle.
  • Property Owner:NEWCASTLE CITY COUNCIL 2300

163-169 Hunter St / 111b Hunter St Newcastle, East End,  Washington Hous
  • 1878 - W. Grisdale & Co. Royal Arcade, Ready Made Clothing Boys & Men, For working class Newcastle
  • 1897 - Scott's Pty Ltd, General Drapers, 1897-1909,  Importers, Milliners, Clothiers, Mercers.
  • 1909 - Scotts Pty Ltd, 1909-1957, General Drapers.
  • 1910 - Herbert A. Hawkins, Chemist
  • 1910 - Harry Charlestown, Upper Level, Photographer & Studio, Charlestown Studio's was a late 19th c / early 20th c photography business owned & run by Harry Charleston, here, and previously at a location on the cnr Hunter & Newcomen Sts. In 1931 the building was renamed Washington House after the pharmacy businessman Washington Handley Soul, & later it was part of Scott's, & then David Jones..
  • 1920 - J.E. Cook, Small Goods
  • 1938 - Washington Handley Soul (Washington H. Soul (n.b. Soul Pattinson was a subsidiary company of Washington H. Soul and Co.)
  • 1983 - Gentlemens Outfitters, David McElwaine. Newcastle and the Hunter Valley's premier menswear and mens fashion retail outlet. We are the number one shop for suits, shirts and accessories
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building
  • Property Owner: GPT HUNTER CUSTODIAN PTY LIMITED & LANDCOM 2000
  • Washington Handley Soul,  Caleb Soul (1817-1894), druggist and chemist, was born in London on 13 January 1817, son of Eli Soul, commodore in the East India Co., and his wife Elizabeth, ne Hodges. After a grammar school education he learned the wholesale drug trade and for about eighteen years worked in a drug manufacturing company which, among other things, supplied preparations to the British forces during the Crimean war. In 1840 in London he had married Jane Elizabeth Peters; she and their infant daughter died in 1843 and next year he married Mary Anne Handley at Islington, London.
  • 1863 Soul came to New South Wales and managed a store at Morpeth before moving to Sydney where he became a country representative for the Colonial Sugar Refining Co. and Tucker & Co. He and his only son Washington Handley, born in London on 6 November 1845, who had been in the British mercantile marine and had arrived in the colony in 1863, also acted as mining brokers for a time. In 1872 they opened a drug store and dispensary in Pitt Street, Sydney, styled Washington H. Soul & Co,for a time George W. Bull was a partner. Business flourished and operations were gradually extended on the manufacturing side. In sixteen years of operations Caleb claimed to have saved the public $120,000, the difference between prices formerly charged and their much cheaper prices.
  • Soul was interested in certain social issues: he had promoted building societies in the Morpeth and Maitland districts and held radical views on taxation.  He died of acute bronchial catarrh at his residence, Ardleigh, Point Piper Road, Sydney, on 31 August 1894 and was buried in the Congregational section of South Head cemetery. His estate was sworn for probate at $40,600.
  • Washington carried on the business and it continued to expand. It amalgamated with Pattinson & Co. and became a public company on 21 January 1903 as Washington H. Soul, Pattinson & Co. he retired from active business after 1903 and by 1940 the firm had forty-two stores in Sydney and Newcastle and in 1974 it was one of the first hundred companies in Australia. He had married Charlotte Louisa Bird (d.1923) in Sydney in 1873; survived by her and three daughters, he died of heart disease at his residence, Agincourt, Albert Road, Strathfield, on 13 December 1927 and was buried in the Congregational section of South Head cemetery. His estate was sworn for probate at $76,000.  (Australian Dictionary of Biography)

165 Hunter St / 113 Hunter St  Newcastle, East End   David Jones Building 

  • 1843 - The Rouse Hotel  (Robinson) Built on the DJ's Site. William Rouse arrived as a convict on the Baring in 1815. In 1820 he was sentenced to death, the sentence being commuted to transportation to Newcastle for life. In 1825 he was employed on the Boat's Crew at Newcastle. In 1829 he married Anne Vane/Wade, a convict of the Grenada in 1827. In 1830 William Rouse was employed as Constable and in 1839 Chief Constable.
    In 1843 he failed to apply for his license for the Steam Carriage Inn which was to close its doors, however he did obtain a license for his 'splendid new house' under the sign of the The Newcastle Inn. This was situated in Hunter Street near Perkins Street. Later Scott's occupied the site. In 1845 the Publicans General License held by William Rouse was transferred to his wife Ann Rouse at a Special Court of Petty Sessions in consequence of the departure of William Rouse for England.
    In the 1850's Rouse's Hotel was considered to be 'out of town', the main part of the town being up near Watt Street. A large poplar tree grew on the footpath in the front of the hotel in those days. John Moore held the licence in 1866...  William Rouse for many years of the Newmarket Hotel.  
  • 1878 - The Rouse Hotel was put up for sale by Ann Rouse,
  • 1897 - Scott's Pty Ltd, General Drapers, 1897-1958, Importers, Milliners, Clothiers, Mercers
  • 1909 - Herbert A. Hawkins, Chemist  113 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Harry Charleston, Photographer
  • 1930 - Howard Harris Studios
  • 1930 - Robe Store, Specialist
  • 1930 - Miss E. Yates, Ladies Hairdresser
  • 1938 - Miss O. Lavington, Ladies Hairdresser
  • 1938 - Lowes Ltd, 1938-1950, Tailors
  • 1938 - Upper Floor, G. S. Cole, Dentist
  • Currently - All Buildings demolished for the Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Buildings


167-187 Hunter St / 115 Hunter St Newcastle, East End    David Jones Building
  • 1897 - Scott's Pty Ltd, General Drapers, 1897-1958, Importers, Milliners, Clothiers, Mercers.
  • 1909 - R. Currie & Co, Tailors Mercers   115 Hunter St  ok
  • 1910 - Ways Ltd, Refreshment Rooms, 1910-1930,
  • 1932 - Soul Pattinson Pty Ltd, 1932-1938m, Chemist
  • 2019 - David Jones buildings were all Demolished
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building



Scott's Corner before DJ.s, Cnr Hunter & Perkins St  (Photo Ralph Snowball)  1908

169-187 Hu
nter St / 117 Hunter St  Newcastle, East End,  David Jones Building
  • 1843 - The Newcastle Inn
  • 1880 -  Hewitt BrosFishing Tackle
  • 1897 - Scott's Pty Ltd, General Drapers, 1897-1958, Importers, Milliners, Clothiers, Mercers.
  • 1909 - David James Jones, Draper   117 Hunter St
  • 1938 - Soul Pattinson Pty Ltd, 1938-1950,  Chemist
  • 1958 - David Jones (acquired Scott's) 1958-2012, David Jones closed in 2012 and was Demolished in 2019
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building
  • For further info on Scotts
  • Property Owner:GPT HUNTER CUSTODIAN PTY LIMITED & LANDCOM 2000


Scotts Corner

175 Hunter St / 119 Hunter St Newcastle, David Jones Building

  • 1905 - David James Jones, 1905-1957, Draper
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Buildings 

181 Hunter St / 121 Hunter St 53 Hunter StNewcastle East End  David Jones Building
  • 1890 - Scott's Ltd, Drapers
  • 1905 - Pearson's, Furniture warehouse, kept by Mr. Greaves.
  • 1958 - David Jones, 1958-2012, David Jones closed in 2012 and was Demolished in 2019
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building

183 Hunter St / 123 Hunter St 55 Hunter St Newcastle,  David Jones Building
  • 1897 - Scott's Ltd, Drapers
  • 1900 - William. Shirlow, 1900-1905, Boot and Shoe Store
  • 1905 - Henry Endersby, 1905-1910, Boot Dealer 123 Hunter St   ok
  • 1910 - Nobby Shoe Company/Commonwealth Shoe Company, 1910-1929, manager was David Leslie Sharp, who became Henry.s son-in-law. David Sharp had married Henry.s daughter, Florence Hannah Endersby, in December 1906 and they went on to establish Sharps Shoe Store in 1929 at 205 Hunter Street. David Sharp was 26 when he married Florence and was 30 when he was the manager of the Nobby Shoe Company, following its acquisition from Henry Endersby in 1910.
  • 1958 - David Jones, 1958-2012, David Jones closed in 2012 and was Demolished in 2019
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building



Scotts Corner, Cnr Hunter & Perkins St  (Photo Newcastle Herald) 1891
185 Hunter St / 125 Hunter St57 Hunter StNewcastle,  David Jones Building
  • 1886 - Lloyd & Manning, Grocers
  • 1897 - Scott's Ltd, Drapers
  • 1905 - H. T. Lucerne, Butcher  125 Hunter St
  • 1958 - David Jones, 1958-2012, David Jones cloed in 2012 and was Demolished in 2019
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building



Cnr Hunter & Perkins St  (Photo Ralph Snowball)  1891

187 Cnr Hunter St / 127-129 Hunter St  NewcastleHunter and Perkins StCornerDavid Jones Building
  • 1886 - W. Grahame & Son, Watchmaker
  • 1893 - Scotts Corner, Speros Paizis opened a cafe , known as Scotts Corner, In 1912 he moved around the corner into Perkins Street to the Victoria Cafe
  • 1897 - Scott's Ltd, Drapers
  • 1905 - George Paizis, Fruiterer,    129 Hunter St
  • 1912 - Speros Paizis moved around the corner to the Victoria Cafe.
  • 1919 - Scott's Corner, with its electric clock in the tower, telling the correct time, night and day, was one of the principal land-marks of the city.
  • 1958 - David Jones 1958-2012, cloed in 1912 and was Demolished in 2019
  • 1980 - TimeZone, Pinball Machines
  • Currently - Construction of the Newcastle East Apartment Building
<<<<< Crossing over Perkins St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>>>
South side of Hunter St, Perkins to Brown St Block... for the North side of Hunter Street Click Here


Jack Sample's Crown and Anchor Hotel 1897
189-195 Cnr Hunter St / 133 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1876 - Stuarts Family Hotel This Hotel posseses a splendid suite of apartments, commanding a magnificent view of the Harbour. A well appointed Bath-room, contiguous to the bed rooms. A spacious room, built and arranged expressly for the accommodation of Comrmercial Gentlemen
  • 1876 - Victoria Theatre Hotel, Next Door to Stuarts Family Hotel,  in Perkins St was J. Dawson, late of the " Green Gate," Waratah, begs to inform his friends from that district, and the public generally, that he has opened a new and commodious House, known as the THEATRE HOTEL, adjoining the Victoria Theatre Perkin-street. W. J. D. will continue to keep the best of Liquors only, and can offer all visitors to the city superior accommodation, at moderate Charges
  • 1884 - The Temperance Hotel replaced the Victoria Theatre Hotel which was located between the  Stuarts Family Hotel and the Victoria Theatre
  • 1897Jack Sample's Crown and Anchor Hotel ..
  • 1897 - Mrs W.S. Stewart 1897-2018, has taken over the cafe next door to the Crown and Anchor in Perkins St, known as Cafe De Paris which was The Temperance Hotel in 1884
  • 2002 - Veranda added to the Crown and Anchor Hotel.
  • Currently - The Crown & Anchor Hotel (Mrs E.M. Stewart) incorporating Sprout Dinning Restaurant on the upper level
  • Property Owner:ENTASIL PTY LIMITED 2197


The Temperance Hotelwas between the Victoria Theatre and Crown and Anchor Hotel in Perkins St 1884


Crown & Anchor Hotel, St George, Westpac Photo late Percy Sternbeck) 1986

191a Hunter St / 135 Hunter St Newcastle,    The Crown and Anchor Hotel Site
  • 1907 - Greys Cafe, on the Crown and Anchor Hotel Site               
  • 1910 - John. Blackburn, Watchmaker
  • Currently - The Crown & Anchor Hotel
  • Property Owner: NEWCASTLE CITY COUNCIL 2300

191b Hunter St / 139 Hunter St  Newcastle, on the Crown and Anchor Hotel Site
  • 1905 - Frank J. Street, Tobaconist
  • 1909 - E.A. Guard, Refreshment Rooms ..           chk139
  • Currently - Crown and Anchor Hotel

191c Hunter St / 141 Hunter St  Newcastle, on the Crown and Anchor Hotel Site

  • 1883 - Richard Moore, Clothing,  every garment well made
  • 1909 - Horler Bros, Hatters
  • Currently - Crown and Anchor Hotel


 191d Hunter St / 143 Hunter St Newcastle, Crown and Anchor Hotel Site
  • 1905 - Lewis & Thomas, Drapers
  • Currently - Crown and Anchor Hotel

195  Hunter St / 145 Hunter St Newcastle, on the Crown and Anchor Hotel Site
  • 1886 - J. Pearson, Tailor
  • 1909 - Charles J. HartChemist
  • 1905 - William Bradley & Co, Boot Shop  147 Hunter St
  • 1930 - A.W. Anderson, Smallgoods
  • 1938 - Huxtable Lucky Lottery, Hairdresser
  • 1986 - Strandbags
  • Currently - Crown and Anchor Upper Floor Stairs to the Sprout Dining Restaurant


J. Pearson, S. C. Baker, This Is Pike's,  F. Jillings, 197 Hunter St / 151 Hunter St 1886
197 Hunter St / 151 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1880 - Price, Fruiterer
  • 1886 - S. C. Baker, Boots & Shoes
  • 1905 - Frank J. Street, Tobacconist
  • 1920 - John Jones, Smallgoods
  • 1935 - Samuel Reeves, Fruiterer
  • 1990 - Games Workshop.
  • CurrentlyGames Workshop

199 Hunter St / 153 Hunter St  Newcastle
  • 1886 - This Is Pike's,  Walter A. Pike, 1886-1909, Boot Manufacturer, Bootmaker  
  • 1920 - John Horler, Hatter
  • 1930 - J. Israel, 1930-1938, Jeweler
  • 1940 - Howe's Shoes Pty Ltd. Shoe store
  • 1986 - St George Building Society, 1986-2008
  • CurrentlyFirst State Super
  • Property Owner:A L POULTER 2045


Bank of NSW and Winns, 203-223 Hunter St /161-165 Hunter St (Photo Newcastle Herald)
199a Hunter St / 155 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1880 - F. Jillings, Tea Merchant
  • 1886 - Price, Auctioneer
  • 1910 - William H. Bruce, Tailor
  • 1916 - Marble Bar Cafe
  • 1920 - Bert jones, Confectionary 
  • 1920 - Bank of New South Wales
  • 1930 - The American Bag Store
  • 1938 - George Caldwell, 1938-1950, Jewelry.
  • 1976 - Westpac Bank
  • 1986 - St George Building Society 1986-2008
  • 1990 - Strandbags
  • Currently - First State Super
  • Property Owner:DERMOS PTY LIMITED 2030

201 Hunter St / 157 Hunter St  Newcastle
  • 1886 - Gates & Co, Grocer
  • 1910 - James E. Cook, Ham Smallgoods
  • 1920 - Charles J.R. Hart, Chemist
  • 1923 - Cavalier, buy your glasses at Cavalier
  • 1930 - R.H. Stewart, 1930-1938, Chemist
  • 1938 - Newcastle Bag Store Pty Ltd, 1938-1950, Handbags Travelgoods 
  • 1986 - St George Building Society 1986-2008
  • Smarts Bag Store
  • Currently - First State Super


203-223 Hunter St /161-165 Hunter St, Corner Hunter & Perkins Sts  1920's
203 Hunter St / 159 Hunter St  Newcastle
  • 1886 - R.O. Charlton, Draper
  • 1905 - G. Ruggero, Fruiterer
  • 1920 - H.T. Lucernes Meat Markets, 1920-1938, Butchers
  • 1930 - Capewell & Taylor, 1930-1938 Florists
  • 1950 - Australian Sea Foods
  • 1950 - McGavins Buther Shop, McGavins took over a number of Lucerne's butcher shops in later years including the stores on Hunter Street and at 133 Scott Street. They eventually had more than 20 butcher shops in the region. 
  • 1980 - St George building Society
  • Currently - Newcastle Family Practice

205 Hunter St / 159a Hunter St  Newcastle,
  • 1886 - J. Dalby, Boot Shop
  • 1929 - Sharp's, Boot and Shoe retailers. 1929-1976, shop1, the shoe store was taken over by the Wyatt family, following the death of Florence Sharp in 1976. Winns
  • Currently - Newcastle Family Practice


Winn & Co, Drapers, 209-223 Hunter St /163-165 Hunter St  (Photo R Snowball) Spero Digi Color 1897

207 Hunter St / 161 Hunter St  Newcastle, Winns Building, The Acculon Apartment building
  • 1878 - The Paragon Hotel 1878-1909, Reopened again after the late fire of 1883 (1878 John Le Brun, Jos O.Hanlan)   161 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Wall G. Edwards, 1920-1938, Dentist
  • 1929 - Sharp's, Boot and Shoe retailers.1929-1976,  shop2
  • 1930 - George Field, Electrical & Wireless supplies.
  • 1930 - Domestic Machinery Co Ltd, Electrical Repairs
  • 1938 - E. White, Tailor
  • 1940 - Howe's Shoes Pty Ltd. Shoe store
  • 1986 - The Greater Newcastle Permanent Building Society, 1986-2006
  • 2006 - All previous buildings demolished, it's now The Acculon Apartment building
  • 2006 - The Greater Newcastle Permanent Building Society
  • 2015 - Elite Health Supplements
  • 2017 - Hearing Life
  • Currently - Hearing Life


Winn & Co, Drapers 209-223 Hunter St /163-165 Hunter St (Photo R Snowball) Spero Digi Color 1897

209-223 Hunter St / 163-165 Hunter St  Newcastle, Winns Building, The Acculon Apartment building
  • 1878 - Winns, William Winn and Company Pty. Ltd. Drapers, 1878-1980,  Harriett Johnson, The code of integrity and honesty on which the business had been founded , lasted for 101 years 
  • 1947 - SuttonsPlayer Pianos. Beale. Crown, Gul Sransen, etc. Fully reconditioned and guaranteed. Easy terms. SUTTON'S
  • 1986 - Venture, Department Store, 1986-1994, A chain of discount department stores that operated in Australia between 1970 and 1994.CCC
  • 2006 - All previous buildings demolished, it's now The Acculon Apartment building
  • 2008 - Elite Health Supplements
  • 2015 - The Beautician
  • Currently - The Beautician
  • Property Owner:J KARMAS & A KARMAS (Unit 401) 2304
  • Winns, William Winn and Company Pty. Ltd. Drapers,  Harriett Johnson, born on 11th January, 1823, married James Isaa c Winn in April, 1844. They sailed for Australia on the Templar 11 in May, 1844, arriving in Sydney in August,1844, then sailed to Newcastle, where they settled in Cameron's Hill, Pit Town, now known as Hamilton , on the present site of St. Peter ' s Church of England. In August, 1855, James, who was a carpenter by trade, died, leaving Harriett a widow with four children to support. With little money and no financial security, Harriett opened a small store, probably in part of her home. This was the first Winn's store. The first Methodist church services in Hamilton were held in here in 1858..After serving their apprenticeship in Newcastle, two brothers, William and Isaac, went to Melbourne, where they gained valuable experience in a prominent wholesale drapery warehouse . In October, 1878, together with Mrs, Aird, a sister of Mrs, William Winn , they commenced business as co-founders of W. Winn & Co. n a small building with a 19ft. frontage to Hunter Street, The Broadway, Newcastle. The venture had a humble beginning, with only one assistant, and floor space of only 450 sq. ft
  • A HISTORY OF WINNS LTD. FR


Venture,  209-223 Hunter St /163-165 Hunter St  (Photo late Percy Sternbeck) 1986

211-213 Cnr Hunter St / 167 Hunter St  Newcastle,  Winns Building, The Acculon Apartment building
  • 1878 - The Hunter River Hotel  1878-1910, (Laurence Kearney)  167 Hunter St
  • 1878 - Winn & Co, Drapers
  • 1986 - Venture, Department Store, 1986-1994, A chain of discount department stores that operated in Australia between 1970 and 1994. Bought by the South Australian department store John Martins, Venture is best remembered as a retailer of medium quality women's and children's clothing as well as soft home wares. In 1981, Bob Burke managed and revitalised the chain, closing unprofitable stores and changing the merchandise focus to budget-priced, quality apparel, aimed mainly at women, teenage girls and children. During Burke's first three years, turnover doubled and profitability increased, aided by a focus on own-branded merchandise which was not subject to competitor comparison. In February 1987, Venture purchased the Waltons (department store) chain from Alan Bond consisting of 47 Waltons and Norman Ross stores. The Waltons stores were converted to Venture outlets, which increased the number of stores to 70 across all states of Australia.Venture experienced financial difficulties in the late 1980s and early 1990s, and was placed in liquidation in April 1994, with all stores closing soon after, More info on Venture.     
  • 2006 - All buildings demolished, it's now The Acculon Apartment building with retail below
  • 2006 - IGA Store, 2006-2015
  • 2016 - Green Street, Real estate agent
  • Currently - Green Street, Real estate agent
<<<<< Crossing over Brown St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>>>>
South side of Hunter St, Brown to Crown St Block...  for the North side of Hunter Street Click Here


ANZ Bank  built as the Bank of Australasia (Photo Google) 2018

225-231 Cnr Hunter St / 171 Hunter St  Newcastle,  ANZ Bank Chambers
  • 1880 - The Bank of Australasia, 1880-1950, (Laurence Kearney) The Bank of Australasia had considered commencing operations in East Maitland from 1839. A Newcastle branch was opened in 1854, supplied at the outset with cash from the East Maitland office. The bank purchased the area bounded by Hunter, Brown, King and Crown Streets, one acre, from the Australian Agricultural Company and erected a bank premises on the corner of Hunter and Brown Streets, gradually selling off the remainder of the block.  It merged with the Union Bank of Australia to form the Australia and New Zealand Bank on 1 October 1951.. 171 Hunter St
  • 1951 - ANZ Bank, is one of the largest companies in Australia and New Zealand and a major international banking and financial services group, which is among the top 100 banks in the world.
  • 1980 - Kentucky fried chicken.
  • Property Owner: KENTUCKY FRIED CHICKEN PTY LTD 2086
  • Currently - Momo Wholefood 


ANZ Bank (Photo Percy Sternbeck) 1986

227 Hunter St / 173 Hunter St  Newcastle,  ANZ Bank Chambers
  • 1880 - R. Bryant, 1880-1909, Saddler   173 Hunter St
  • Currently - Momo Wholefood 

229 Hunter St / 175-177 Hunter St  Newcastle,  Side Door to ANZ Bank Chambers
  • 1899 - Bargain Warehouse
  • 1930 - Upper Floor, Workers Cash Orders and Finance Company Ltd, 1930-1950, Agents Financial
  • 1930 - Upper Floor,  J. Spiller, 1930-1940, Chiropodists.        177ok
  • 1938 - Electrolux Pty Ltd, Vacuum Cleaners
  • 1940 - G. A. Lows, Frocks
  • 1940 - Upper Floor,  R. Graham, 1940-1950, Building Supplies,   C.R. Boge B.D.S. Dental Practice
  • 1951 - Upper Floor,  Douglas William Easthope B.D.S. (from Eleebana)  bought the C.R. Boge Dental Practice, Douglas William Easthope studied Dental at the Sydney Sanitarium College at Fox Valley Road in Wahroonga. After DW Easthope graduated he went and worked for Mr C.R. Boge at his Dental Practice and eventually bought the business when Mr Boge wanted to retire
  • 1960 - Upper floor,  Dr Lindsay and Razmilic Ear Nose and throat specialist.
  • Currently - Entrance to Upper Floors

231 Hunter St / 179 Hunter St Newcastle, ANZ Bank Chambers
  • 1880 - P.E. Nerv, Fancy Goods
  • 1890 - G.W. Mulvey, Basket Manufacturing    G. W. MULVEY guarantees to sell cheaper than anywhere in the colonies  231 Hunter St
  • 1905 - Fredrick. W. Krempin, 1905-1968, Seedsman, Nursery, seedman, plant seedlings and seed   179 Hunter St
  • 1986 - Peony Decorating
  • Currently - The Flying Tiger cafe. now closed

233 Hunter St / 181 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1880 - E. Lewis & Co, Drapers
  • 1909 - M.J. McKensey, Baker,    181 Hunter St
  • 1930 - Vacant shop.
  • 1938 - Domestic Machinery Company, 1938-1955, bicycle manufacturing, Sewing Machines, Furniture & Bedding.
  • 2008 - Bakery, 2008-2017
  • Currently - Papa Al’s Bakehouse
  • Property Owner: DRIMA PTY LTD 2303


Oxford Hotel on the Hunter St side  (Photo R , Snowball) 1897

235  Hunter St / 183a Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1920 - Hewit Bros, 1920-1939, Hardware Merchants
  • 1930 - C.B. Lusk & Co, Tennis Rep Specialists
  • 1938 - Peter Pan, 1938-1950, Childrens Outfitters.
  • 1938 - Rockmans 1938-1950, Frocks
  • 1938 - D. Berg, Carpets & Furniture
  • 1986 - Radio Rentals, 1986-1991,
  • 2008 - Current - The Silver Castle
  • V LIM & D M LIM 23

237  Hunter St / 183b Hunter St Newcastle,  Part of The Oxford Hotel
  • 1880 - The Oxford Hotel  (W.Kelly) original hotel, Later extended to the J. Ireland Corner  183 Hunter St
  • 1930 - H.A .Barraclough Ltd, 1930-1938,  Opticians
  • 1938 - B.M. Wainwright, Optician 

239 Hunter St / 183c Hunter St Newcastle.  Part of The Oxford Hotel
  • 1888 - Mrs P.K. Penny,  Miliner, Dressmaker and Drper, Underclothing and Baby clothing 183 Hunter St
  • 1930 - E.A. Eggleston, 1930-1950, Newcastle Flower Shop, Florist.

241 Hunter St / 183c Hunter St Newcastle,  Part of The Oxford Hote
  • 1877 - J. Ireland, 1880-1909, Wholesale Grocer & Product Merchant  183 Hunter St
  • 1930 - Treasure Grove, Grocers
  • 1960 - Darrell Lea, Chocolate Shop

243 Hunter St / 183d Hunter St Newcastle,  Part of The Oxford Hotel
  • 1930 - Alex Hodgson, Mercer


Bank Hotel
Bank Hotel (Oxford Hotel)  245 Hunter St c1877

237-245 Cnr Hunter St / 183 Hunter St Newcastle,  Shops within the Hotel Building
  • 1847 - The block of land at the corner of Hunter, Brown and Crown Streets was part of the grant of 2000 acres from the Crown to the Australian Agricultural Company
  • 1854 - The Bank of Australasia purchased the whole block, containing one acre, from the Australian Agricultural Company, at a cost of £1500, and erected, on the corner of Hunter and Brown Streets, what was re gardled at that time as a very imposing building, after dedicating to the City Council a triangular strip of land at the corner of Brown street for the widening of Hunter street at that point.
  • 1854 - The Bank Hotel was built on the western boundary wvith its stabling accommodation at the rear. The hotel was the rendezvous of many patrons who came into the town from the outlying centres. At that time Crown-street did not exist since the overhead bridge crossing Hunter street was in, use by the company for the conveying of coal from its mine at Hamilton to the loading chutes at the wharf.
  • 1877 - The late Mr. Jesse Ireland purchased that part of the block bounded by Hunter and King Streets, and erected a warehouse and residences on the site. It is uncertain when the name of the hotel was changed to the Oxford Hotel, but many residents will recollect the remodelling of the building, which freehold was recently disposed of to Tooth and Company Ltd.
  • 1877 - Brown's Bank Hotel also known as Bank Hotel (1877 J. Brown, late of the Victoria Hotel) 1870-1920 the site was occupied by Jesse Ireland, significant Produce Merchants
  • 1886 - J. Ireland Ltd, 1886-1920, Importers & General Merchants
  • 1896 . Peter Doyle.s Corner
  • 1925 - The Oxford Hotel 1925-1950, The original Oxford Hotel1854, (near to the A.A. Company.s Bridge) George Galley, Having secured the above commodious hotel, lately occupied by Mr. F.Edwards, which has been THOROUGHLY RENOVATED and FURNISHED, is prepared to receive Visitors, Boarders, and Families, where they will find all the comforts of a home, charges strictly moderate. Nothing but the best in liquors kept, GOOD STABLING. The proprietor wishes it to be distinctly understood that his Hotel has nothing to do with the Hotel called .Galley's Hotel,1896,on the corner of Hunter and Newcomen streets.
  • 1977 . The Tower Tavern   ..
  • 1980 - The Oxford Hotel,  extended from 237 Hunter to 245 Hunter St
  • 1982 . The Lucky Country Hotel  ...
  • 2008 - The Lucky Country Hotel  Renovated, fully renovated by the McCloy Group. For more information regarding the Lucky Country Hotel
  • Currently - The Lucky Country Hotel. Corner of Hunter Street. Hotel established c1925 as The Oxford Hotel (1930-H.M. Stevens, 1940-J. Laskie), renamed the Tower Tavern c 1977 and The Lucky Country Hotel c1980.s. The Bank Hotel  formerly stood on the site now occupied by the Oxford Hotel.
  • Property Owner:NUOVE CASTELLI PTY LIMITED 2309
  • The Oxford Hotel had many licensees during the early 1900s. Matthew McNamee who acquired the licence in 1899 was succeeded by Mark Murphy in 1900. During 1902 John Morrison took over for a short time until thomas Donnison took over in 1903 and held the licence till 1913


Crown St Tram Stop


Hunter & Crown Sts, The Oxford Hotel

In 1909, HUNTER ST as it was, ENDED HERE at the AA Company's rail bridge. THE WEST END 1909 Numbering Started here.  
This is also the END of the pre 1900's numbering system. This point also marks the START of Blane St to the West End


<<< Crossing over Crown St and continuing west along Hunter Street >>>
South side of Hunter St, Crown to Darby St Block... for the North side of Hunter Street Click Here


NOTE: The removal of the AA Company's rail bridge over Hunter Street in 1921, opened up Hunter St to the West as far up as Cottage Creek.

247 Hunter St Newcastle
  • 1880 - J. Ireland Ltd, 1880-1921,  Seed Merchant the Bargain Arcade. Narrow triangle block west of Crown St
  • 1930 - Kelly's Korners Ltd, Service Station, 1930-1938, Triangle Service Station
  • 1938 - G.O. Winton, Fruiterer
  • 1938 - Bargain Arcade Pty Ltd, Shop1
  • Currently - Vacant Shop

249  Hunter St Newcastle, Warrah House, 1935
  • 1880 - AA. Company Rail Line Bridge
  • 1921 - Angus & Coot Jewellers, 1921-1986
  • 1938 - Bargain Arcade Pty Ltd, Shop2
  • 1950 - Pretty Things, Children.s Outfitters
  • 1950 - Edwards Book Store, Bookseller 
  • 1992 - Duty Free Shop
  • 2000 - Frontline HobbiesToy and Hobbies shop
  • Note - Warrah House and the stores were built after the AA Company Rail Bridge was demolished in 1921
  • Property Owner:GREEK COMMUNITY OF NEWCASTLE LTD 2303
  • Currently - Donna Donna, Ladies Fashion store
The Start of 01 Hunter St West Numbering System used around 1909

251 Hunter St / 01 Hunter St West Newcastle,   Warrah House 1935
  • 1880 - A.A. Company Rail Line Bridge built
  • 1891 - W.H. Roberts, 1891-1920, Watchmaker 01 Hunter St
  • 1905 - Feltham & McLeod, Jewelry, watches, silverware
  • 1921 - Angus & Coot Jewellers, 1921-1986
  • 1935 - Warrah House and the stores were built in 1935, after the AA Company Rail Bridge was demolished in 1921
  • 1938 - Browns Manchester Store's Pty Ltd, 1938-1940, Drapers
  • 1992- Duty Free Shop
  • 2000 - Frontline Hobbies, 2000-2018, Toy and Hobbies shop
  • Currently - Donna Donna, Ladies Fashion store


251 Hunter St / 01 Hunter St West,  A.A. Company Rail Line Bridge  (Photo Ralph Snowball) 1891

253 Hunter St / 03 Hunter St West  Newcastle,    Warrah House 1935
  • 1880 - A.A. Company Rail Line Bridge
  • 1891 - Newsagent
  • 1905 - George Feltham & Co, 1905-1920Jewelry, musical instruments, importers, &c  3 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - Mrs A. Burrell, Confectionary
  • 1935 - Warrah House and the stores were built in 1935, after the AA Company Rail Bridge was demolished in 1921
  • 1938 - Coo-ee Clothing Ltd, Outfitters
  • 1950 - Dianne Frock Shoppe.
  • 1950 - Tatler Newsreel Theatrette, 1950-1966, Taken over in 1966 by Margaret & Theo Goumas & renamed the Roma Theatre.
  • 1966 - The Roma Theatre, 1966-1986, Margaret & Theo Goumas, The Tatler showed newsreels on a continuous loop in the latter half of last century. The constantly dark interior gained notoriety as a hangout in the 1950s and from then on it became an important part of Newcastles history. Television killed the newsreel and the Tatler followed the well-beaten track out of town and into our collective memory before the century was through..
  • 1992- Duty Free Shop
  • 2000 - Frontline Hobbies, Toy and Hobbies shop
  • Currently - Frontline Hobbies, Toy and Hobbies shop


251 Hunter St / 01 Hunter St West, Crown & Hunter St  (Photo University of Newcastle) 1935

255 Hunter St / 05 Hunter St West  Newcastle,   Warrah House 1935
  • 1880 - A.A. Company Rail Line Bridge
  • 1891 - Watchmaker
  • 1909 - Frederick G. Croft,1909-1920,  Bookseller
  • 1909 - Mrs Margret Davies, Confectionery   5 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - Bridge, French Dry Cleaners
  • 1935 - Warrah House Was Built
  • 1950 - Tatler Newsreel Theatrette, 1950-1966, Taken over in 1966 by Margaret & Theo Goumas & renamed the Roma Theatre.
  • 1966 - The Roma Theatre, 1966-1986, Margaret & Theo Goumas, The Tatler showed newsreels on a continuous loop in the latter half of last century. The constantly dark interior gained notoriety as a hangout in the 1950s and from then on it became an important part of Newcastles history. Television killed the newsreel and the Tatler followed the well-beaten track out of town and into our collective memory before the century was through..
  • 1978 - Mainly Military, later changed name to Frontline Hobbies, Toy and Hobbies shop
  • 2000 - Frontline Hobbies, Toy and Hobbies shop
  • Note - Warrah House and the stores were built in 1935, after the AA Company Rail Bridge was demolished in 1921
  • 2000 - Frontline Hobbies, Toy and Hobbies shop
  • Currently - Frontline Hobbies, Toy and Hobbies shop

257 Hunter St / 07 Hunter St West Newcastle, near AA Companys Bridge  (in 1909 it was 07 Hunter St)
  • 1880 - T. Thompson, Fruiterer, Grocer
  • 1909 - Henry Ball, Tailor  7 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - Miss J. Duncan, Milliner
  • 1930 - Walter Neve Pty Ltd, 1930-1938, Furniture Manufacturer & Undertakers, shop1
  • 1930 - Cox Bros, Furnishings, Drapers
  • 1940 - Fostars Shoes Pty Ltd. Shoe store
  • 1950 - The Commonwealth Bank of Australia
  • 1986 - Ray Baartz Sports Store  Raymond Henry "Ray" Baartz (born 6 March 1947) is an Australian former soccer player. He represented Australia 48 times, scoring 18 goals, making him the 8th highest goal scorer of all time. Baartz was born in Newcastle, New South Wales and spent his early years playing for Adamstown. At 17 he joined Manchester United and after 6 months signed on a two-year contract. In 1966 he returned to Australia and transferred to Sydney Hakoah for a then Australian record of �5600. He played 236 club matches scoring 211 goals. Baartz was selected in the Australian squad to play in the World Cup finals in 1974 but his career was prematurely ended after he was felled by a blow from Uruguay's Luis Garisto in a friendly international fixture at the Sydney Cricket Ground. The blow to his throat had damaged his carotid artery. Ray currently still lives in Newcastle.
  • 2000 - Frontline Hobbies, Toy and Hobbies shop
  • CurrentlyVacant Store

259 Hunter St / 09 Hunter St West  Newcastle,The Corona Building 1935
  • 1880 - A. McNeil, Milliner
  • 1890 - Newsagency
  • 1909 - Mrs Janet Hunter, Milliner  9 Hunter St West
  • 1905 - Henry Brownt, Bookseller
  • 1909 - Frederick G. Duncan,  1909-1920,  Bookseller
  • 1930 - Walter Neve Pty Ltd, 1930-1938,  Furniture Manufacturer & Undertakers, shop2
  • 1950 - Cox Brothers, Furniture
  • 1986 - Ray Baartz Sports Store #2 ..
  • 2000 - Frontline Hobbies
  • Currently  - Vacant
  • Property Owner:M POLITIS & N POLITIS 2303

261-263 Hunter St / 11 Hunter St West  Newcastle, The Corona Building 1935, (in 1909 it was 11 Hunter St)
  • 1880 - T. M. Raysmith, 1880-1909,  Jewelers
  • 1920 - David L. Thalberg & Son, 1920-1930, live wire of Jewelers
  • 1932 - Fostars Shoes Pty Ltd, 1932-1940, Shoe & Boot store
  • 1986 - S&W Miller, Electrical appliancesTV, whitegoods
  • 2008 - Current - Camera House

265 Hunter St / 13 Hunter St West Newcastle, The Corona Building 1935
  • 1880 - W.A. Hewit, Variety Arcade #1
  • 1909 - Miss A. Fearnley, Milliner 13 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - David L. Thalberg & Sonlive wire of Jewelers
  • 1930 - J. Ovitch, Newsagent
  • 1938 - R.S. Goldie. Stationer & Newsagent
  • 1938 - Percy G. Pidgeon, 1938-1940, Stationer & Newsagent
  • 1938 - C. Jennings, Hairdresser
  • 1950 - Jack & Sons, fruiterer
  • 1986 - Cindys, Ladies Fashion
  • 2008 - Current - Surtaj Indian Restaurant  .. 

267 Hunter St / 15 Hunter St West   Newcastle
  • 1880 - W.A. Hewit, Variety Arcade #2
  • 1909 - David L. Thalberg & Son, 1909-1930, Clothier  15 Hunter St West
  • 1930 - Gee's Millinery Salon 
  • 1930 - Invisible Mending Stocking Co
  • 1932 - Leo McMaugh, Dentist
  • 1938 - T.J. Phillips, 1938-1950, Jeweller
  • 1986 - In Shus
  • 2007 - Chicken Cafe
  • 2015 - Current - Saigon Feast  


The Corona Building built 1935, (Photo Percy Sternbeck) 1986

269 Hunter St / 17 Hunter St West  Newcastle,  The Corona Building 1935
  • 1909 - Thomas M. Stapleton, Wine Shop  17 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - W.J. Cook, Smallgoods
  • 1930 - Bridge Dryers & Cleaners, Ladies Dresses & Gents' suits & Hats given new life.
  • 1938 - Raybould, Children's Clothing
  • 1938 - McKenzie.s, Mercers, Mens Clothing,  owner, Wilf Wingett
  • 2015 - Current - Ruby Rhubarb women.s clothing  
  • Property Owner:M J BORRELLI & R S BORRELLI  2291

271 Hunter St / 19 Hunter St West  Newcastle, The Corona Building built 1935
  • 1880 - W. Brunton, Stationer
  • 1909 - James F. Cook, 1909-1920, Ham Shop   19 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - Ken A. Penny, Clothier
  • 1930 - Donald Sutherland, 1930-1938, Hatter & Mercer
  • 1938 - John Paynter, 1938-1950, Hardware & Paint Merchants shop1
  • 1986 - Sussans, Womens Fashion  #1
  • 2008 - Current - Newcastle French Bread House #1

273 Hunter St / 21 Hunter St West  Newcastle, The Corona Building built 1935

  • 1880 - Office
  • 1909 - William H. Lathlean, Clothier
  • 1909 - Alex Rae     21 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - Way.s Ltd, 1920-1930, Refreshment Rooms
  • 1935 - The Corona Building was built by the AAC.
  • 1938 - John Paynter, Hardware & Paint Merchants shop 2
  • 1986 - Sussan, womens clothes #2
  • 2008 - Current - Newcastle French Bread House #2


275 Hunter St / 23 Hunter St West  Newcastle, The Corona Building built 1935
  • 1880 - R. Breckenbridge, Auctioneer Timber Merchant
  • 1909 - Edward Newton, Herbalist   23 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - New York Shoe Store, 1920-1938
  • 1935 - The Corona Building was built by the AAC.
  • 1940 - Sergeants, Milk Bar
  • 1938 - Cash Orders, 1938-1950.
  • 1938 - R.H.Stewart. Chemist, 1938-1950,  Dennis Scott Pharmacy ?
  • 1950 - Invisible Repair Service
  • 1950 - Amalgamated Loans Ltd,  Agents Financial
  • 1986 - Joshua, Fashion store
  • 2017 - Sacredart, body piercing
  • Currently - HUB Advisory Group


Novak, Corona, Jayes (Photo Percy Sternbeck) 1986

277a Hunter St / 25 Hunter St West Newcastle, The Corona Building built 1965
  • 1880 - R. Breckenbridge, Auctioneer Timber Merchant
  • 1897 - Hotel   ... maybe Steels Hotel  ?
  • 1909 - William H. Lathlean, Clothier
  • 1920 - New York Shoe Store, 1920-1938
  • 1935 . The Corona Building was built by the AAC.
  • 1950 - Jaroslav and Clare Novak, 1950-1986, Novac Camera Company. Jaroslav and Clare Novak took over the photographic business of C T Lorenz in the late 1950s, having arrived from South Africa and the worked for that business in the early 1950s.
  • 1975 - Upper Floor, Nevil Hill, Dentist, 1975-1990
  • Current - Legal Agents


Tom H Ingall's & Lynch,  27-29 Hunter Street (Photo Ralph Snowball) 1898

277 Hunter St / 27 Hunter St West  Newcastle,  The Corona Building built 1935
  • 1898 - Tom H. Ingall & Lynch, 1898-1908, Milliners shop1 27 Hunter st West
  • 1908 - Lathlean, Tailor & Hatter  27 Hunter st West
  • 1938 - Sargents Newcastle Ltd, Refreshment Rooms
  • 1950 - Howard's Drapery
  • 1964 - The Corona Cafe,1964-1986, proprietor was Nick Gerakiteys. In 1948, Nick & Jim Gerakiteys. Father, introduced Chocolate Coated ice creams  that are now sold in most picture theatres.
  • Currently - The Good Property Company For passionate property management in Newcastle


Nick & Jim Gerakiteys At the The Corona Cafe (Photo Gerakiteys) 1960's

279 Hunter St / 29 Hunter St West  Newcastle,  The Corona Building
  • 1898 - Tom H. Ingall & Lynch, 1898-1909, Milliners shop2  29 Hunter st West
  • 1909 - William Draper, Boot Dealer
  • 1920 - Thomas C. Hoffman, 1920-1930, Cycle & Motor Dealer.
  • 1938 - Elite, Ladies Outfitter
  • 1938 - Chequers Robes, Frocks
  • 1957 - Rayfords, Records, Tape Recorders, Hifi, owned by Mark Murphy, Reg Mason, Manager
  • 1986 - South Pacific Duty Free Shop
  • 2008 - Baptain Saucy
  • 2008- Turnup Patch ???
  • Currently - Wak-the-salon

281 Hunter St / 31 Hunter St West  Newcastle,  The Corona Building built 1935
  • 1909 - Alf E. Vesper, 1909-1930, Dentist 31 Hunter St West
  • 1932 - Hygienic Fish Supply, 1932-1938
  • 1938 - Bruce Small Pty Ltd, Cycle Agents
  • 1948 - J. Harrington's, Radio Service, Cycles & Accsessories, Lamps, Bells, reflectors, Radios
  • 1970 - Hot Property, clothing Fashion
  • CurrentlyNewcastle Coins

283 Hunter St / 33 Hunter St West  Newcastle,  The Corona Building built 1935
  • 1909 - Frank Luckham, 1909-1938, Photographer  33 Hunter St West
  • 1938 - J.C. Morris, 1938-1950, Boot and Shoe retailers.
  • Currently - Vacant Store

285 Hunter St / 35 Hunter St West  Newcastle, Jayes Building
  • 1908 - Sorby's Pty. Ltd, 1908-1950, Ironmongers, Hardware, Sorbys was a hardware store. The Newcastle branch was one of 17 stores in NSW. The firm began to rationalise its activities in 1971. In May 1972, Sorbys, owned by Kempthorne Mistral Ltd announced that the name of Sorbys Hardware Pty Ltd would in future be conducted under the name of Earp, Woodcock, Beveridge & Co Pty Ltd.  35 Hunter St West
  • 1966 - Jayes Travel, moved from its longtime 141 Scott Street home to new premises
  • 2010 - Max Employment, and other various tenants.(285)
  • Currently - Max Employment,  Streets Real Estate, on the Upper Level, Hot Yoga and other tenants, Upper Level, Hot Yoga and other tenants.                       ok35  ok285  
  • Further Info on Jayes Travel 
  • Property Owner: ITHACA COLD STORAGE PTY LIMITED 2300

287 Hunter St / 35a Hunter St West  Newcastle, Jayes Building
  • 1966 - Jayes Travel, moved from its longtime 141 Scott Street home to new premises
  • 1989 - Oscars Record & tapes, Moved here from 325 Hunter St,
  • 1989 - Oscars was sold to Brash's
  • 2010 - Streets Real Estate, was established nearly 30 years ago by cousins Terry and Max Street. The business operated from premises in Hunter Street, Newcastle and engaged primarily in residential and commercial sales, medium density development and residential property management.Andrew Walker, Street Real Estate's principal, became a partner in the business in 1996 having commenced work as a junior residential salesman in 1985 and assumed sole proprietorship in 2002 upon the retirement of both Terry and Max Street.The Group's Managing Director, Andrew Walker, states "that providing modern innovative real estate solutions from a multi-faceted organisation,  where clients enjoy the experience is our major focus".
  • Currently - Streets Real Estate

291-293 Hunter St / 37 Hunter St West  Newcastle,  Argyle Building
  • 1839 - Reg A Baker  1839-1948, Newcastle.s Leading Sports Store, Astor Car Radios. Immediate delivery and installation, Newcastle's Leading Radio, Electricaland Refrigeration Suppliers. 291-293 Hunter St
  • 1909 - Pedro D. Bergos, Oyster Saloonalso 303 Hunter  37 Hunter St West
  • 1920 - A. Andros, Oyster Saloon
  • 1920 . J. Fenwick, Butcher (#293)
  • 1938 - Fisher's Drapers
  • 1986 - Reuben F. Scarf, Founded in 1937, Reuben F. Scarf is a leader in the formal and wedding wear. Our a range of products are of optimum quality.
  • Currently - Gift Store
  • Property Owner:REUBEN F SCARF NCLE PTY LTD 2030


Blaine / Hunter St near Jayes building

295-297 Hunter St / 37a Hunter St West   Newcastle,  Argyle Building
  • 1909 - Harry Hales, Tobacconist
  • 1920 - George Butler, Confectionery
  • 1930 - Tom Jack & Sons, Fruiterers
  • 1932 - Beath's bird Shop
  • 1938 - Truscott's Smallgoods
  • Currently - Vacant Shop


Hunter & Darby St's looking West (Photo Uni)

299 Hunter St / 41 Hunter St West   Newcastle, (in 1909 it was 41 Hunter St)
  • 1905 - David Israel, Clothier   41 Hunter St
  • 1920 - Duncalfe & Co, Mercers
  • 1930 - Star Markets, Grocers
  • 1938 - J. Harrington, Radio Dealer
  • 1938 - 2HD Sunshine Club Room
  • 1938 - H.C. Walkley, Dentist, Upper Level
  • 1940 - Reg Taylor, Florist
  • 1949 - H.G. Palmer, Herbert George Palmer began in the radio bu